Skip to main content

The Board of Governors is responsible for:

  • the governance of the University;
  • control of its property and revenues;
  • the conduct of its business and affairs, except for matters assigned by the Act to Senate;
  • powers specifically enumerated by the Ryerson University Act and the By-Laws of the University.

The Board’s implied powers include institutional strategic planning, risk management, and financial management of the University.

Ryerson University's 24-member Board of Governors comprises of:

  • the Chancellor
  • the President
  • nine people appointed by the provincial government
  • two people appointed by the Board
  • three alumni elected by the alumni
  • three faculty elected by the faculty
  • two administrative staff members elected by the staff
  • three student members elected by the students
Members of the Board of Governors
  Appointment Type
Fukakusa, Janice Chair Government Appointee
Frazer, Mitch Vice Chair Government Appointee
Lachemi, Mohamed   Ex-Officio, President & Vice-Chancellor
Bloomberg, Lawrence S.   Ex-Officio, Chancellor
Al Zaibak, Mohammad   Government Appointee 
Austin, John   Elected by Administrative Staff
Cockwell, Jack   Government Appointee
Hilkene, Christopher   Board Appointee
Ien, Marci   Government Appointee
Lewis, Sivagowry   Elected by Administrative Staff
MacDonald, Chris   Elected by Faculty
Morton, Victoria   Elected by Students
Myers, Cassandra   Elected by Students
Nouser, Mariam   Elected by Students
Paisley, Catherine   Elected by Alumni
Saloojee, Anver   Elected by Faculty
Sinha, Samir   Government Appointee
Snobar, Abe   Elected by Alumni
Staffieri, Tony   Board Appointee
Sugiman, Pamela   Elected by Faculty
Traill, Rhiannon   Elected by Alumni 

For more information, updates and Board Member biographies, please see: