You are now in the main content area

Google Groups Help Centre

Google Groups is a service that allows you to create and participate in online forums and email-based groups at Ryerson. It offers various features to help classmates or departments communicate and collaborate.

  • Send an email to everyone in the group with one address.
  • Invite a group to an event. 
  • Share documents with a group.

  Learn how to use Google Groups with Google Groups Guide

Popular Questions

  1. Open your Google Calendar. 
  2. Go to Settings > Calendars and click the calender you want to share.
  3. Click Share this calendar.
  4. Under Share with specific people, in the Person field, enter the email address of the group with which you want to share the calendar.
  5. In the Permissions Settings drop-down list, select the level of access you want to give the group.
  6. Click Add Person and Save.


Notes:

  • Each member of the group receives a sharing invitation email message. A member must click the "add this calendar" link in the invitation to view your calendar. Because this link works only for members of the group, you can safely post it on web pages or send it in other email messages.
  • If your group contains members who don't use Google Calendar, you can share an HTML version of your calendar with them: Go back to Settings > Calendars and click the calendar you are sharing. On the Calendar details tab, under Calendar Address, click HTML. Copy the URL that appears and send it in a message to your group.
  1. Create a new document in Google Drive, or open an existing document (Learn more at our Google Drive FAQs).
  2. In the document, click Share.
  3. In the Invite people field, enter your group's address.
  4. Select the level of access you want to provide the group: Can editCan comment, or Can view.
  5. Click Share & save.

Note: If you add new members to the group at a later date, they'll be able to access the document only via the document's URL. To make the document appear in the Shared with me section of a new member's Google Drive, you must re-share the document with the group or share the document with the new member individually.

  1. When group membership is hidden:
    • In this case, when adding the group to the invite, it will NOT expand to all the individual names and just display the name of the group. You will receive an error message stating that you cannot see members of the group: Group members are hidden.

  2. When group membership is visible:
    • When adding the group to the invite, it will expand to all the individual names.
    • You will receive RSVPs and the event will automatically be added to the recipients' calendars (indicating that they have not yet responded to the RSVP).
  • The event’s guest list WILL keep up with changes to the group’s members: the event will appear for new members of the group and will be removed from the calendar of people that leave the group (unless they are invited directly or as a member of a different group).
  • Group changes are only updated for future events (events that haven’t happened yet), including future instances of recurring events.
  • If you click the Expand group link, the group expands into a list of guests who can be individually removed. However, group membership information is lost, and the event will no longer keep up with subsequent changes.