Skip to main content

May 18, 2017, Ryerson Learning & Teaching Conference, RU Engaged! Learning, Teaching and the Student Experience

Ryerson Learning & Teaching Conference
RU Engaged! Teaching, Learning and the Student Experience
Thursday May 18, 2017

The first priority in Ryerson’s Academic Plan “Our Time to Lead” is to enable greater student engagement and success through exceptional experiences. This underlies Ryerson’s commitment to providing students with superior programs and learning opportunities extending beyond the classroom, lab, and lecture hall.

Ryerson is committed to providing students with the required tools to facilitate thriving careers in today’s knowledge economy. Learning is a shared responsibility, which occurs through interactions across faculty, industry and community partners and peers, and through experiential learning and research opportunities. Ryerson’s commitment to educational excellence means being responsive to all aspects of the learning environment.

All Ryerson students – undergraduate, graduate, Aboriginal, first generation, international, adult learners and students with disabilities – must have the chance to experience substantial intellectual and personal growth during their academic careers. This includes providing access to supports and services that students may require to succeed and participate in an equitable, diverse and inclusive community.

Faculty, staff and students are invited to submit proposals for-

Concurrent Sessions

  • Lightning Talks (10 minutes)
  • Presentation (25 minutes)
  • Presentation (50 minutes)

An individual or group led discussion or interactive demonstration on a topic related to the scholarship of teaching and learning, or a learning project related to the conference themes.

A poster describing a topic, innovation or research related to the conference themes.

Proposals are due March 31st, 2017 at 4PM

Submit a proposal


  1. Submissions are peer reviewed by faculty reviewers.
  2. Abstracts should be no more than 250 words.
  3. The criteria for submission review and selection include -
    • Clarity and coherence of submission
    • Clarity of objectives and learning outcomes
    • Contribution to scholarship and/or innovative educational practice
    • Presentation approach and the level of participant engagement
    • Relevance and usefulness to the intended audience
    • Relevance to the conference theme

Please direct questions to Amira Rezkalla, Program Assistant

Author Guidelines

All abstracts must be submitted electronically to the Learning and Teaching Office via the online submission form. Please follow all submission guidelines.

Contact Information

The first author/presenter will be considered the contact for all further communications. It is up to this author to inform co-presenters of abstract submission outcomes. The first author must provide their full name, institutional position, institution, department, email address (required) and telephone number. This author must also indicate the number of co-presenters who are going to present or are listed as authors on the session. For each co-presenter, their name and department must be provided. You may provide information for up to 10 co-presenters.

Session Description

Indicate whether you are submitting a poster, or presentation. You will be required to place your abstract in the space provided. The maximum number of words for this abstract is 250.

  • For the concurrent session, abstracts should indicate the purpose of the session, methods to be used in the session, expected outcomes of the session and what the participants should learn from the session.
  • For the poster sessions, abstracts should indicate the purpose of the poster, methods used in developing concepts or research, outcomes and conclusions.



Available technology is the standard presentation technology found in the classroom. We regret that we cannot take personal AV orders beyond the technology in the PTEC classrooms. Please be sure to bring your presentation on a memory stick, for easy access to the technology. Presentation technology will not be provided for the poster session.


Your submission will be peer reviewed by two independent reviewers. Outcomes of this review will be emailed to the first author/presenter. We regret that we can only email the first presenter and thus the first presenter should inform all co-presenters of the outcomes.

Concurrent Sessions

  1. All rooms are equipped with full PT podiums. If you are using a Mac laptop and would like to connect it to the podium, please bring your own adapter.
  2. Please bring your markers with you, we will have markers on site if needed.
  3. Volunteer moderators (graduate students) will be available for your session - they will do the introductions of those who are presenting also will act as a time keeper.
  4. If you wish to have your session evaluated by those attending, please bring your own evaluation forms with you.
  5. Please manage the timing of your presentation, presentations will be running consecutively.

Poster Session

The Ryerson Faculty Conference Committee warmly invites all in attendance to the Poster Presentations and Cocktail Reception.

This session will give everyone attending the conference the opportunity to meet you and see your posters. Here's the basic information you need to plan your poster.

Display tables will be rectangular and have enough space to display two Posters Tables will generally be shared by two presenters. We will provide 36" x 48" presentation boards, which fold into three panel sections.  

For guidance in preparing your poster, download our handout on Creating an Academic Poster [pdf].

For more information, check out Creating Effective Poster Presentations.

Be innovative. Look for a different approach to the poster presentation while staying within the spirit of the conference theme. Use text sparingly and consider more graphic and visual forms of communication. If you wish to provide a more detailed text, consider a handout, electronic mailing list, or other forms of extension.

Be interactive. Explore ways beyond the traditional 'conversation at the table' to involve participants in active learning and promote interaction with your poster. Identify learning outcomes and plan interactions that will foster the achievement of those outcomes. Some possibilities from recent conferences include interactive "draw-on" posters, encouraging additions by sticky-note, including puzzles or participant challenges to your poster.

All posters presented at the conference will be considered for The G. Raymond Chang School of Continuing Education Poster Competition and will be eligible to receive The G. Raymond Chang Trophy.

Keynote Address by Dr. George Kuh

Dr. George Kuh is the Founding Director, Senior Scholar and Co-Principal Investigator at the National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment. He is Adjunct Professor at the University of Illinois, and the Chancellor’s Professor Emeritus at Indiana University where he founded their Center for Postsecondary Research and the National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE). Dr. Kuh won the Robert Zemsky Medal for Innovation in Higher Education from the University of Pennsylvania, the Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Iowa, and the Distinguished Alumni Award and the Educational Leadership Award for Teaching from St. Cloud State University. He won Indiana University’s Tracy Sonneborn Award for a distinguished record of scholarship and teaching, and in 2014 the President’s Medal for Academic Excellence, the highest honor the Indiana University president can bestow.


Past Faculty Conferences

See our archived page for the 2016 conference.