Skip to main content
Research and Innovation


University research is governed by policies and practices that ensure the protection of research participants, researchers (faculty, students, and staff members), the university, and the public. These policies and practices cover research involving humans, the use of animals, controlled goods, and hazardous materials, among others.

Please note that research may not begin before all University approvals/certifications, institutional requirements, or governmental authorizations are obtained.

Individual researchers, in addition to being governed by internal policies and procedures, may be governed by external ethical guidelines imposed by professional associations such as the Canadian Psychological Association or the Canadian College of Physicians and Surgeons, as well as the guidelines of Canadian and other regulatory agencies, such as the Health Protection Branch of Health Canada and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

All funded or unfunded research involving humans, animals, or controlled goods undertaken at Ryerson University facilities and conducted by Ryerson University faculty, students, and staff is subject to review and approval.


Every Thursday - 10:00am to 12:00pm
Office of the Vice-President, Research and Innovation, YDI-1123, 11th floor, 1 Dundas Street West

Alternate Tuesdays - 9:30am to 11:30am
Student Learning Centre, SLC-515, 5th floor, 341 Yonge Street
April 19
May 3, 17, 31
June 14 & 28
July 12 & 26
August 9 & 23
September 6 & 20
October 4 & 18
November 1, 15, 29
December 13

Alternate Thursdays - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Ted Roger School of Management, 55 Dundas Street West
April 14 in TRS 2-102
April 28 in TRS 2-102

Please drop in if you have any questions.
No appointment necessary.


Office of the Vice-President, Research & Innovation 
1 Dundas Street West, 11th Floor
Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z3

Toni Fletcher
Research Ethics Coordinator
(Ethics, Animal Care, Controlled Goods)
416-979-5000 ext. 7112

Zakiya Atcha
Research Ethics Coordinator
416-979-5000 ext. 4841

Lynn Lavallée, Associate Professor
Chair, Human Research Ethics Board
(Human Ethics)
416-979-5000 ext. 4791

Research Ethics Board

The Research Ethics Board (REB) approves, rejects, proposes modifications to, or terminates any proposed or ongoing research involving humans that is conducted by faculty, staff, or undergraduate students of the university so as to protect research subjects and ensure that research is conducted in an ethical manner. No research on humans shall be undertaken without the prior approval of the REB.

The REB shall:

  • Interpret and apply the Tri Council Policy Statement and relevant legislation.
  • Establish guidelines and procedures consistent with the Tri Council Policy Statement and relevant legislation.
  • Facilitate research by consulting with and assisting researchers.

Lynn Lavallée

Community Services (Social Work)




Toni Fletcher REB Coordinator
Zakiya Atcha REB Coordinator
Amy Desjarlais
Aboriginal Resesarch (Social Science)
Restiani Andriati Digital Media (Digital Media)
Chris Macdonald Ethicist (Law and Business)
Joanne DiNova First Nation/Inuit/Metis Representative (Professional Communications)
Sean Hillier
Graduate Student (Policy Studies)
Asher Alkoby

Legal Expertise (Business Management)

Nazanin Ayon Criminology
Sumit Bhatia Digital Media
Dan Guadagnolo History and Marketing
Scott Gavura Pharmacologist
Alexandra Fiocco Arts (Psychology)
Vacant Arts
Kristyn Scott Ted Rogers School of Management (Organizational Behaviour)
Chris Macdonald Ted Rogers School of Management (Business Ethics)
Joanne DiNova Communication and Design (Professional Communications)
Bernie Murray Communication and Design (Fashion)
Idil Abdillahi Community Services (Social Work and Policy Analysis)
Richard Meldrum Community Services (OCC Health and Safety)
Lauren Wirtzfeld
Science (Physics)
Vacant Engineering and Architectural Science
Patrizia Albanese

Graduate Studies (Sociology)

Vacant Graduate Studies
Maureen Reed Graduate Studies (Psychology)
Sean Hillier Graduate Student (Policy Studies)
Gary Galbraith Graduate Student (Policy Studies)
Vacant Undergraduate Student
Iordan Nikolov Undergraduate Student (Philosophy)
Nancy Walton Previous Chair / Ethicist (Nursing/E Learning Director)