Skip to main content

2011 Faculty Teaching Award recipients announced

Community invited to March 24 celebration

It gives me great pleasure to announce the 2011 recipients of Ryerson's Faculty Teaching Awards.

Teaching excellence is honoured at all levels at Ryerson but the Faculty Teaching Awards program allows us to truly celebrate exemplary faculty. In Shaping Our Future, Ryerson's academic plan for 2008-2013, we committed to preserving the high quality of our teaching and learning environment as one of the key criteria for growth.

This year's recipients embody that commitment. Their passion for education, both as learners and teachers, is contagious. They have had a positive impact on their students, engaging them and motivating them to maximize their learning opportunities.

A special awards presentation will be held on March 24. As in previous years, this presentation is open to all members of the Ryerson community and I encourage you to attend. This is our opportunity to celebrate our colleagues and our teachers for their contributions to teaching excellence. The awards and this year's recipients are:

The President's Award for Teaching Excellence recognizes a Ryerson educator who has demonstrated continuing teaching excellence and who has made contributions to advancing teaching and learning at Ryerson.

The 2011 recipient of the award is Alan Sears from the Department of Sociology in the Faculty of Arts. Alan is an innovative instructional designer, who has developed inquiry-driven courses with an experiential orientation for undergraduate students. He is committed to developing positive learning relationships with students, grounded in respect for their voices and interest in their experiences. He is a leader in our learning and teaching environment, having held the position of teaching associate and the newly created teaching chair.

The Provost's Experiential Teaching Award recognizes a Ryerson educator who has advanced teaching and learning at Ryerson with a particular focus on experiential learning. The 2011 recipient is Elaine Frankel from the School of Early Childhood Education in the Faculty of Community Services.

Elaine's commitment to experiential learning at Ryerson includes an active involvement in the creation and implementation of the successful simulation program offered through the Interpersonal Skills Teaching Centre. Elaine continues to act as a champion of experiential learning through her involvement with the Experiential Teaching Committee, the Learning and Teaching Office and as the Faculty of Community Services teaching chair.

The Provost's Interdisciplinary Teaching Award recognizes a Ryerson educator who has advanced teaching and learning through interdisciplinarity. The 2011 recipient is John Caruana from the Department of Philosophy in the Faculty of Arts.

John has taught courses in the Arts and Contemporary Studies program, an innovative, interdisciplinary, undergraduate BA degree program since its inception at Ryerson. Since 2006, he has taught almost exclusively in this program, and such a commitment to interdisciplinary teaching is rare. Student testimonials speak to the impact that John's approach to teaching has had on their undergraduate research pathways.

Deans' Teaching Awards

These awards recognize Ryerson educators who have demonstrated continuous teaching excellence and achievement in instruction, as determined by their respective faculties. The 2011 Deans' Teaching Award recipients are:

* Faculty of Arts: Jenny Carson (Department of History); Anne-Marie Lee-Loy (Department of English)

* Faculty of Communication & Design: James Nadler (School of Radio and Television Arts)

* Faculty of Community Services: Nadya Burton (Midwifery Education Program); Kiaras Gharabaghi (School of Child and Youth Care)

* Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Science: Alagan Anpalagan (Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering); Said Easa (Department of Civil Engineering); Kaamran Raahemifar (Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering)

* The G. Raymond Chang School of Continuing Education: John Edward Stowe (Arts)

* Ted Rogers School of Management: Roy Morley (Department of Marketing)

More information on the award presentation will be made available on Ryerson Today, as well as on the Learning and Teaching Office website in the coming weeks.

Our awards program is an important part of our commitment to enhancing the learning and teaching experience at Ryerson and it would not be possible without the involvement and commitment of many people in the community. Nominations and selections are a time-demanding process but are essential to maintaining a robust awards program so on behalf of everyone at Ryerson, I thank those who contributed to these processes.

Please join me in congratulating all award recipients for contributing to a thriving environment of teaching excellence where students are provided with new, creative and innovative learning opportunities.

Alan Shepard
Provost and Vice President Academic



Back to Ryerson Today