You are now in the main content area

Resources

Other Resources:

Dodem Kanonhsa’ Culture and Education Lodge – http://dodemkanonhsa.ca/, external link
International Indigenous Speakers Bureau - https://www.iispeakersbureau.com, external link
National Speakers Bureau - https://www.nsb.com/, external link
Native Canadian Centre or Toronto: http://ncct.on.ca/, external link

A Narrow Vision: Duncan Campbell Scott and the Administration of Indian Affairs in Canada. E. Brian Titley

A National Crime: The Canadian Government and the Residential School System. John S. Milloy

Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants. Robin Wall Kimmerer

Canadian Public Opinion of Aboriginal Peoples. Environics Institute for Survey Research - http://www.environicsinstitute.org/, external link

Children of the Broken Treaty. Charlie Angus

Determinants of Indigenous peoples’ health in Canada: beyond the social. Margo Greenwood, Sarah de Leeuw, Nicole Lindsay & Charlotte Reading

“Enough To Keep Them Alive”: Indian Social Welfare in Canada, 1873-1965. Hugh Shewell

Guide to Acknowledging First Peoples & Traditional Territory - https://www.caut.ca/content/guide-acknowledging-first-peoples-traditional-territory, external link, external link

Inconvenient Indian, A Curious Account of Native People in North America. Thomas King

Indigenous Men & Masculinities: Legacies, Identities, Regeneration. Kim Anderson & Robert Innes

PDF file"Indigenous youth exploring identities through food security in Canada and Brazil"

Ontario First Nations Maps: www.ontario.ca/page/ontario-first-nations-maps, external link

Peace Pipe Dreams: The Truth about Lies and Indians. Darrell Dennis

Peace, Power, Righteousness: An indigenous manifesto. Taiaiake Alfred

Primer: Canadian Law on Aboriginal and Treaty Rights. University of British Columbia Faculty of Law – Available online

Report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal People. Available online at http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/, external link

Strong Helpers' Teachings: The Value of Indigenous Knowledges in the Helping Professions. Cyndy Baskin

PDF file"STRUGGLES, STRENGTHS AND SOLUTIONS: EXPLORING FOOD SECURITY WITH YOUNG URBAN ABORIGINAL MOMS "
Cyndy Ann Baskin, Bonnie Guarisco, Ruth Koleszar-Green, Nadya Melanson, Cheryl Osawamick

PDF fileTeachings on Semah (Tobacco) - Protocol on seeking the advice of Traditional Resource people

The Winter We Danced: Voices from the Past, the Future and Idle No More Movement. The Kino-nda-niimi Collective

They Came for the Children: Canada, Aboriginal Peoples, and Residential Schools. Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada

Treaties – Ontario.ca: https://www.ontario.ca/page/treaties, external link

Treaty No. 9. John Long

United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. Available online at PDF filehttp://www.un.org/esa/socdev/unpfii/documents/DRIPS_en.pdf, external link

Unsettling Canada: A National Wake-up Call. Arthur Manuel

Unsettling the Settler Within: Indian Residential Schools, Truth Telling, and Reconciliation in Canada. Paulette Regan

Wicihitowin: Aboriginal social work in Canada. Raven Sinclair, Michael Hart & Gord Bruyere

Women of the First Nations: Power, wisdom, strength. Christine Miller & Patricia Chuchryk

"PDF fileWomen of the Shining Light: Developing Collaboration Between Pregnant/Parenting Aboriginal Women with Substance Misuse Challenges, Substance Misuse Treatment Counsellors, and Child Welfare Workers." is based on a recent research project with Dr. Cyndy Baskin as co-principal investigator.

2Spirited People of the 1st Nations - www.2spirits.com, external link

Aboriginal Housing Support Centre - www.aboriginalhsc.org/, external link

Aboriginal Peacekeeping Unit - http://www.torontopolice.on.ca/community/aboriginal.php, external link

Aboriginal Voices Radio - www.aboriginalvoices.com/, external link

Aboriginal Legal Services - www.aboriginallegal.ca, external link

Anduhyaun Shelter -  www.anduhyaun.org/, external link

Anishnawbe Health Toronto – www.aht.ca, external link  

Canadian Council for Aboriginal Businesses – www.ccab.com/, external link

Centre for Indigenous Theatre (CIT) – http://indigenoustheatre.weebly.com, external link

Chiefs of Ontario - www.chiefs-of-ontario.org/, external link  

Council Fire Native Cultural Centre - www.toronocouncilfire.ca, external link

Dodem Kanonhsa’ Culture and Education Lodge – http://dodemkanonhsa.ca/, external link

First Nations House at University of Toronto - www.fnh.utoronto.ca/, external link  

First Nation School of Toronto - http://schoolweb.tdsb.on.ca/fnst/Home.aspx, external link  

George Brown College Native Student Services - www.georgebrown.ca/aboriginal/, external link  

ImagineNative Film and Media Festival - www.imagineNATIVE.org, external link  

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada - www.ainc-inac.gc.ca/index-eng.asp, external link

Indspire (formerly National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation) – www.indspire.ca, external link

Miziwe Biik Aboriginl Employment and Training - www.miziwebiik.com, external link

NaMeRes – Native Men’s Residence – www.nameres.org/, external link

Native Canadian Centre of Toronto – http://ncct.on.ca, external link

Native Child & Family Services – www.nativechild.org, external link

Native Earth Performing Arts Inc. – www.nativeearth.ca, external link

Native Women’s Resource Centre – www.nativewomenscentre.org/welcome.html, external link

Nekenaan Second Stage Housing - www.cfis.ca/xnekenaan.htm, external link

Nishnawbe Homes Inc. - www.cfis.ca/nish.html, external link

Ontario Aboriginal HIV/AIDS strategy - www.oahas.org, external link

Ontario Federation of Indian Friendship Centers - www.ofifc.org/, external link

Ontario Native Council on Justice - www.cfis.ca/xontario_native_council.htm, external link 

Southern Aboriginal Diabetes Initiative (SOADI) – www.soadi.ca, external link

Toronto Aboriginal Care Team - http://torontocareteam.org/index.html

Wigwamen Inc. – www.wigwamen.com/, external link

Useful Websites

1000 Conversations on Reconciliation: http://1000conversations.ca/?page_id=48, external link  

Aboriginal Canada Portal: https://aboriginalcanada.ca/en/, external link  

Aboriginal Documentary Heritage - Historical Collections of the Canadian Government: http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/aboriginal-heritage/index-e.html, external link  

Aboriginal Healing Foundation: www.ahf.ca, external link

Aboriginal Peoples Television Network: www.aptn.ca/, external link

Assembly of First Nations: http://www.afn.ca, external link

CBC Indigenous - http://www.cbc.ca/news/indigenous, external link

Congress of Aboriginal Peoples: http://abo-peoples.org, external link  

Dodem Kanonhsa’ Culture and Education Lodge – http://dodemkanonhsa.ca/, external link  

First Nations Child & Family Caring Society: https://fncaringsociety.com, external link  

GoodMinds (Teaching and Educational Resources): https://www.goodminds.com, external link  

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada: http://www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca, external link  

Indigenous Health Research Development Program: http://www.ihrdp.ca/, external link  

Indigenous Policy Journal: http://www.indigenouspolicy.org, external link  

Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool, University of Saskatchewan: www.iportal.usask.ca, external link

Indigenous Works (Formerly Aboriginal Human Resource Council): https://indigenousworks.ca/en/about, external link  

Métis National Council: http://www.metisnation.ca/, external link  

Mississaugas of the New Credit First Nation: http://www.newcreditfirstnation.com, external link

National Aboriginal Health Organization: www.naho.ca, external link

National Association of Friendship Centres: http://nafc.ca/en/, external link  

National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation: http://nctr.ca/map.php, external link  

Nation Talk - http://nationtalk.ca, external link  

Native Canadian Centre of Toronto: www.ncct.on.ca, external link   

Native Women’s Association of Canada: https://nwac.ca/, external link

Native Youth Sexual Health Network: www.nativeyouthsexualhealth.com/, external link  

Ontario First Nations Maps: www.ontario.ca/page/ontario-first-nations-maps, external link

Project of Heart: http://projectofheart.ca/what-is-project-of-heart/, external link

Reconciliation Canada: http://reconciliationcanada.ca, external link  

Six Nations of the Grand River: http://www.sixnations.ca, external link

Treaties – Ontario.ca: https://www.ontario.ca/page/treaties, external link

Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada: www.trc.ca, external link  

The AEC highly reccommends Indigenous self identified Métis, First Nations (status or non-status) and Inuit students to access Ryerson Aboriginal Student Services. RASS provides a culturally supportive environment to promote academic excellence and serves as a place to balance academic learning with traditional teachings and culture.