Skip to main content
Alumni Weekend - May 4, 2019

2017 Event Highlights

An Alumni Weekend for the record books! Festivities kicked off on Friday Oct. 13 with a spooky reception for recent grads followed by a full day of on campus activities that included no less than 17 class reunions, 32 activities, 2 tasting events (wine and beer), 2 guest lectures, 4 different tours, 3 receptions and recognition a movie screening and a volleyball game! The day culminated in the sold-out Ryerson Dinner held for the first time on Mattamy Home Ice featuring the Alumni Achievement Awards. Old friends reconnected and new memories were made! ICYMI -  experience the event through this Twitter re-cap!.

Alumni Achievement Awards

The Alumni Achievement Awards recognizes alumni who have not only excelled in their respective careers, but have made significant contributions to their professions, their communities and their countries. Watch video bios for each recipient.

The 2017 recipients of the Alumni Achievement Awards

The 2017 recipients of the Alumni Achievement Awards front row from left: Sathish Bala, Computer Science ’99; Anna Amy Ho, Social Work ’15; Bruce McCuaig, Urban and Regional Planning ’84. Back row: Mohamed Lachemi, President and Vice-Chancellor, Ryerson University; Louise Penny, Radio and Television Arts ’79; David McKibbon, Architectural Science ’83; Ian Mishkel, Vice President, University Advancement, Ryerson University.

The following alumni were recognized at this year’s event:

Sathish Bala, VP, Digital and Innovation, Arrivals+Departures, BlueBand Digital
Computer Science ‘99

Bruce McCuaig, Executive Advisor, Canada Infrastructure Bank
Urban and Regional Planning ‘84

David McKibbon, SVP, Project Management, Development, Cadillac Fairview Corporation Limited
Architectural Science ‘83

Louise Penny, Bestselling Author
Radio and Television Arts ‘79

Anna Amy Ho, Crisis Counsellor & Program Coordinator, Victim Services Toronto
Social Work ‘15

RTA School of Media Wall of Fame

RTA Wall of Fame recipients 2017

Inductees to the 2017 RTA School of Media Wall of Fame from left: Treena Hancock, RTA '94, Melissa R. Byer, RTA '94, Jane Harris (accepting on behalf of Posthumous inductee Alan Clarke - RTA '61), Maayan Ziv, RTA '12, Michael Landsberg, RTA '82, Kim Coghill (accepting on behalf of Posthumous inductee Denis McGrath - RTA '90), Kathleen Pirrie Adams, Donna Morrison

Ryerson University Athletics Hall of Fame

The annual Hall of Fame honoured these outstanding former Ryerson Rams:

  • Isadore Sharp, Athlete
  • Kevin Krasnowski, Athlete
  • Men's Volleyball Team, OUA Silver Medal 2005-2006

View the event recap and photo gallery.