Skip to main content
Department of Chemistry and Biology
Dr. Andrew McWilliams


Dr. Andrew McWilliams

416-979-5000  ext. 4060


Welcome to the Department of Chemistry and Biology. 


The Department of Chemistry and Biology has seen major growth in recent years as one of the founding departments in the new Faculty of Science that was established in 2012. Our Department launched a new undergraduate Biomedical Science program in 2013 to compliment our existing Chemistry and Biology programs. In addition to the growth of the undergraduate programs, our graduate program in Molecular Science has been offering M.Sc and Ph.D degrees since 2011.

With a continued focus on research intensity we are now poised to grow into research space in the Discovery District in the MaRS West Tower. Our faculty are pursuing important research questions across different disciplines with energy, commitment, and creativity that they also bring to their instruction.  Although the Department has grown, we are a team with a friendly, welcoming attitude. Our students, staff, sessional instructors, and faculty work and learn together; each one of us a valued member of our community. We have continued to embrace a uniquely collaborative and welcoming attitude.

This Department has been interdisciplinary from the start and our programs reflect that. Our programs offer a wide spectrum of experience, including undergraduate research opportunities in research laboratories and through the newly launched Science Zone (available Sept. 2016). We expect to further encourage mentorship, innovation and experiential learning at the undergraduate level. Furthermore, the Molecular Science graduate program continues to produce student growth and is a great example of a diverse scientific community engaged in nationally-recognized, high quality research. So if you are interested in real world science training – give us a look.

I hope you will spend some time getting to know us – our people, our programs and our research.  These are exciting times at Ryerson and I invite you to share them with us.  Follow us on twitter @RyersonChemBio or on our Facebook page, or better yet come and visit us at our campus in vibrant downtown Toronto. 

Job Opportunities

Please visit Careers @ Ryerson for opportunities.


Chemistry and Biology

Kerr Hall North 212

350 Victoria St.
Toronto, ON CANADA M5B 2K3

t. 416-979-5313

Office hours: Mon - Fri 
9am - 12pm / 2pm - 4pm


The Department of Chemistry and Biology is located on the 2nd Floor, Kerr Hall North 212  (KHN 212)  

Telephone:   416-979-5313

Office Hours: Mon - Fri  9am - 12pm & 2pm - 4pm
(Closed from 12pm - 2pm)

Molecular Science Director

Dr. Russell Viirre

Office: KHE-324


First Year & Common Science Coordinator

Dr. Anne Johnson

Office: VIC 739

Undergrad Program Directors


Dr. Stephen Wylie

Office: KHS 349M



Students with lastnames A-L

Dr. Costin antonescu

Office: KHE-328-A



Students with lastnames M-Z

Dr. Vadim Bostan

Office: KHE-328-C


Biomedical Sciences

Dr. Sarah Sabatinos

Office: KHN 308






Co-op Advisors

Chemistry & Contemporary Science

Dr. Stephen Wylie

Office: VIC 707



Dr. Costin Antonescu

Office: KHE-328-A


Biomedical Sciences

Dr. Sarah Sabatinos

Office: KHN-308




The Department of Chemistry and Biology is committed to maintaining a safe and healthy working environment. Below you will find resources that help us to uphold our departmental standards. If you have any issues or questions regarding health and safety in the department, please contact any of the members of our Health and Safety Committee, who are listed at the bottom of this page. Please note that matters can be handled confidentially, if desired.



Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) for Laboratories

Chemical Safety Manual

Biosafety Program Manual

Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS)

Ryerson University Environmental Health & Safety

Incident/near miss report form

Health & Safety Committee members
Department Chair: Andy McWilliams (
Chair: Marc Adler (
Faculty: Julia Lu (
Faculty: Rob Gossage (
Technical Specialist (ex-officio): Shawn McFadden (
Technical Specialist (ex-officio): Miriam de Jong (
Technical specialist MaRS: Ella Hyatt (
Graduate student: Fawwaz Azam (
Undergraduate student: Amanjot Sethi (