You are now in the main content area

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is responsible for:

  • the governance of the University;
  • control of its property and revenues;
  • the conduct of its business and affairs, except for matters assigned by the Act to Senate;
  • powers specifically enumerated by the Ryerson University Act and the By-Laws of the University.

The Board’s implied powers include institutional strategic planning, risk management, and financial management of the University.

Ryerson University's 24-member Board of Governors comprises of:

  • the Chancellor
  • the President
  • nine people appointed by the provincial government
  • two people appointed by the Board
  • three alumni elected by the alumni
  • three faculty elected by the faculty
  • two administrative staff members elected by the staff
  • three student members elected by the students
Members of the Board of Governors
  Appointment Type
Fukakusa, Janice   Chancellor
Lachemi, Mohamed   Ex-Officio, President & Vice-Chancellor
Cockwell, Jack Vice-Chair Board Appointee
Ellis, Catherine   Elected by Faculty
Babikian, Silvana   Elected by Administrative Staff
Gonzales, Jennifer (Jen)   Elected by Administrative Staff
Evans, Christopher   Elected by Faculty
Campbell, Norie   Government Appointee
Garay, Camilo   Elected by Alumni
Herb, Hanan   Elected by Alumni
Staffieri, Tony Chair Board Appointee
Paisley, Catherine   Elected by Alumni
Graham, Rob   Government Appointee
Jardine, David   Elected by Students
Rubman, Tay   Elected by Students
Wright, MJ   Elected by Students
Dallaire, Joanne   Honorary Board Elder
Kolios, Michael   Elected by Faculty
McKee, Andrew   Government Appointee
Porter, David   Government Appointee
Mohamed, Nadir   Government Appointee (pending renewal)
Ragunathan, Sobi   Government Appointee
Sinha, Samir   Government Appointee (pending renewal)
Soliman, Walied   Government Appointee


For more information, updates and Board Member biographies, please see: