You are now in the main content area

Create a shared class folder on Google Drive

Did you know that Google Drive can be used to share documents, spreadsheets, forms, as well as audio and video - which can be played directly in Google drive?

If you've decided to use Google Drive to share resources with your students, we recommend you start by creating a shared folder on Google Drive. 

Once you create a folder and ensure the students have access to view the contents of the folder, all you need to do is upload the content to be shared!

Important: If you plan to use Google Drive to have your students upload or collaborate on work, we recommend making the folder completely private.

  1. Click the "New" button in the top-left corner of Google Drive.
  2. Click "Folder" in the menu.
  3. Enter a name for the new folder. We recommend using a combination of your course code, term and section number (if appropriate).
  4. Click the "Create" button at the bottom.


Note:
 you can create folders within this folder to further organize the content you wish to share with your students.

Share with a class Google Group (Most Private )

Now that you have a folder created for the class, you need to ensure the students can access it. This is done through the sharing settings in Google Drive.

If your content is private, and you only want the members of your class to be able to access it, you may want to use a class Google Group. 

For more information on using Google Groups for your class (including how to request one), please review: Use Google Groups to Communicate and Share Content With Your Class.

Share to a specific group
  1. Go to the top of the main Google Drive window, and click the arrow next to the name of the folder.
  2. Click "Share" in the menu.
  3. On the "Share with others" screen, type in the email address of the Google Group you created for your class.
  4. On the right side of this window, there is an icon that indicates the level of access the Google Group will have. By default, it looks like a pencil - click this icon to review the options.
  5. We recommend setting the permission to "Can view only", which will only allow your students to view the contents of the folder and not edit them, nor make changes to the folder itself.
  6. Write a message to let the students know about the new class folder. An email will be sent to them with a link to the folder.
  7. Click the "Send" button.

Note: Users will be required to login with only their Ryerson Google account in order to access this content.

Share with everyone at Ryerson (Somewhat Private)

Now that you have a folder created for the class, you need to ensure the students can access it. This is done through the sharing settings in Google Drive.

If the content you are sharing isn't private, but you don't want it to be totally visible to the public, you may choose to share the folder with anyone at Ryerson who has the link to the content. 

Please note that this setting may not be appropriate if your students will be contributing to the folder, or the documents contained within.

  1. Go to the top of the main Google Drive window, and click the arrow next to the name of the folder.
  2. Click "Share" in the menu.
  3. On the "Share with others" screen, click the "Advanced" button in the lower right-hand corner.
  4. On the "Sharing settings" screen, click the "Change" button listed with the access setting. Since the default setting is "private", you will need to adjust the setting so your students can access it.
  5. On the "Link sharing" screen, select the option "On - Anyone at Ryerson University with the link".
  6. Click the "Save" button at the bottom of the window.
  7. On the subsequent screen, confirm that the new setting is displayed here, then click the "Done" button at the bottom.

Note: Users will be required to login with only their Ryerson Google account in order to access this content.