

Date March 10, 2017

To: Shoaib Ahmed

Secretary, Ryerson Election Procedures Committee

From: Catherine Redmond

Returning Officer

Re: Board of Governors Elections 2017 Results Report

In accordance with the requirements of the Ryerson University Election Procedures Committee, please find attached the following appendices:

Appendix A Tabulation of Votes

Appendix B Declaration of Returning Officer
Appendix C Results in Order of Standing

Appendix D Voting Percentages

Cc: Julia Shin Doi,

General Counsel and Secretary of the Board of Governors

Obaid Ullah,

President, Ryerson Students' Union

Rabbia Ashraf,

President, Continuing Education Students' Association of Ryerson

Peter Danziger,

President, Ryerson Faculty Association

Janice Winton,

Vice President, Administration and Finance



TABULATION OF VOTES

I hereby certify that the electronic ballot tabulation is adequate for the requirements, and the result of the vote is shown hereunder.

STUDENT ELECTION		
Candidates (11) in alphabetical order of surname	Vote Count	
Siu Mee CHENG	143	
Malek EL-KAWAS	244	
Dylan FREEMAN-GRIST	200	
Jason KING	244	
Daniel LIS	214	
Navnidh (Nav) MARWAH	662	
Victoria MORTON	780	
Neal MUTHREJA	638	
Gajanan (Musa) RAVEENDRAN	393	
Roya REZAEE	209	
John-Charles VAUGHAN	151	

RESULTS SU	JMMARY
Eligible voters	40373
Ballots submitted	1762
Votes cast	3878
Declined to vote	95
Participation rate	4.4%

NOTES

There is no paper ballot voting in the student election.



ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF ELECTION		
Candidates (3) in alphabetical order of surname	Vote Count	
Shira GELLMAN	249	
Zohair KHAN	133	
Stephan TANG	155	

RESULTS SUMMARY			
	ONLINE VOTING	PAPER BALLOTS	TOTAL
Eligible voters	1767	64	1831
Ballots submitted	535	8	543
otes cast	529	8	537
Declined to vote	6	0	6
Participation rate	30.3%	12.5%	29.7%

NOTES



TEACHING FACULTY ELECTION		
Candidates (4) in alphabetical order of surname	Vote Count	
Lamya AMLEH	131	
Catherine ELLIS	144	
Alexander FERWORN	96	
Sari GRABEN	107	

RESULTS SUMMARY			
	ONLINE VOTING	PAPER BALLOTS	TOTAL
Eligible voters	805	20	825
Ballots submitted	294	3	297
Votes cast	472	6	478
Declined to vote	1	0	1
Participation rate	36.5%	15%	36%

NOTES



DECLARATION OF RETURNING OFFICER

I hereby declare the following candidates elected:

BOARD OF GOVERNORS STUDENT MEMBERS (3)		
Candidate Name	Vote Count	
Victoria MORTON	780	
Navnidh (Nav) MARWAH	662	
Neal MUTHREJA	638	

BOARD OF GOVERNORS ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF MEMBER (1)		
Candidate Name	Vote Count	
Shira GELLMAN	249	

BOARD OF GOVERNORS TEACHING FACULTY MEMBERS (2)	
Candidate Name	Vote Count
Catherine ELLIS	144
Lamya AMLEH	131



RESULTS IN ORDER OF STANDING

STUDENT ELECTION		
Candidates (11) in order of standing	Vote Count	
Victoria MORTON	780	
Navnidh (Nav) MARWAH	662	
Neal MUTHREJA	638	
Gajanan (Musa) RAVEENDRAN	393	
Malek EL-KAWAS	244	
Jason KING	244	
Daniel LIS	214	
Roya REZAEE	209	
Dylan FREEMAN-GRIST	200	
John-Charles VAUGHAN	151	
Siu Mee CHENG	143	

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF ELECTION		
Candidates (3) in order of standing	Vote Count	
Shira GELLMAN	249	
Stephan TANG	155	
Zohair KHAN	133	



TEACHING FACULTY ELECTION		
Candidates (4) in order of standing	Vote Count	
Catherine ELLIS	144	
Lamya AMLEH	131	
Sari GRABEN	107	
Alexander FERWORN	96	



VOTING PERCENTAGES

STUDENT ELECTION	
Total number of eligible voters	40373
Total number of voters who participated	1762
Percentage of voters who participated	4.4%
ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF ELECTION	
ADMINISTRATIVE STATE ELECTION	
Total number of eligible voters	1831
Total number of voters who participated	543
Percentage of voters who participated	29.7%
TEACHING FACULTY ELECTION	
Total number of eligible voters	825
Total number of voters who participated	297
Percentage of voters who participated	36%