You are now in the main content area

Due to continued government and public health protocols, the university will host fall 2021 convocation ceremonies virtually. Please refer to the Graduation and Convocation section of our central COVID-19 website as this situation continues to evolve.

Visit the convocation main page for information regarding virtual ceremonies this fall 2021.

Honorary Doctorates

Honorary Doctorate Information

Ryerson has bestowed honorary awards on a regular basis since 1979. In 1996, the University began awarding honorary degrees, with the first being presented to His Excellency, The Right Honourable Roméo LeBlanc, the Governor General of Canada.

Honorary degrees are awarded to those who have made extraordinary contributions to:

  • Academia and/or society in Canada or internationally, particularly in fields of interest to Ryerson;
  • The development of Ryerson University;
  • The betterment of culture, society or the local community.

Preference is given to those whose achievements have not been widely recognized. View a list of previous recipients.

Fellowships were awarded from 1979 to 1995. View a list of recipients, opens in new window.

Fellowship recipients are eligible for Honorary Doctorate nomination for accomplishments since their fellowship was bestowed.