You are now in the main content area

Sean Conway

Honorary Fellow

Sean Conway joined the Centre for Urban Energy as a Distinguished Research Fellow in February 2012. As one of the longest serving Members of the Ontario Legislature, Conway has had an active interest in Ontario's energy debate for over 30 years. Among his responsibilities at the Centre for Urban Energy, he provides strategic advice in the building of the Centre; fosters relationships with external partners in government, business, labour and community organizations; authors position papers on energy matters; assists with the development and delivery of various undergraduate, graduate and certificate courses and programs; mentors students and assists with their transition to an energy sector that requires many new recruits.

Conway served as the Chair of the Board of Directors of the Ontario Centres of Excellence (OCE) and is a Public Policy Advisor with the national law firm Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP. He is also a public affairs analyst on various television and radio programs.

A graduate of Wilfrid Laurier University and Queen's University, Sean Conway entered the Legislature in 1975 and served until his retirement in 2003. During that time, he was a member of several Select Committees on Energy. From 1985-1990, he served as Minister of Education in the Government of Premier David Peterson. Upon leaving the Legislature, Conway received the Churchill Society Award in the Cause of Parliamentary Democracy.