You are now in the main content area

Request a course Google Group

Course-based Google Groups create a group / mailing list based on the enrollment of your course section. As students add and drop your section, they will be added and dropped from your Google Group membership.

You can also add co-instructors and TAs to your Google Group, where appropriate.

Google Groups can be found in my.ryerson.ca, under "Apps".

Use a class Google Group to:

  • Simplify email communication (using a single email address for the group)
  • Facilitate the sharing of resources (using a host of Google Workspace tools in Google Drive)
  • Create collaborative activities with your students

Google Group timeline:

Course-based Google Groups are active for the terms the course is running.

For a two term course, if the instructor chose the two term option at the time of requesting the list, the list will be active for two terms.

Note that you will only be able to request a Google Group for courses that currently appear in your course list in RAMSS.

Request a course Google Group

Faculty and staff can fill the Mailing List (Google Group) Request Form available at my.ryerson.ca. To do so:

  1. Go to my.ryerson.ca and log in with your my.ryerson username and password.
  2. In the "Self Service" module, click on "Courses and Organizations".
  3. In the "Requests" section, click on "Mailing List (Google Group)".
  4. Select "Request a Mailing List".
  5. Select the option of "Course" list type
  6. Indicate whether the course runs for one or two terms.
  7. Select which term the course(s) run in.
  8. From the list of your RAMSS courses, select the ones you want to be included in this Google Group (mailing list).
  9. Click "Request Course Mailing List".

You will receive an email confirmation sent to your @ryerson.ca address once the Google Group is created.

Note: You must use an @ryerson.ca account to administer a Google Groups course list. You can add a non @ryerson.ca address as an additional poster to your course list.

 Tips for sharing Google resources with your students 

We've heard from many instructors who would like to share content, but prevent it from being downloaded by the students. 

This isn't something that can be set on an entire folder - you need to enable it on each item.

This will not prevent students from recording their screens, taking photos/screenshots or copying and pasting sections of text.

This setting does not disable downloading for those with edit access to the item.

Find the "share" settings in Google Drive
  • Create or upload an item into your shared Google drive folder.
  • Right-click the item, then select "Share".
Google doc sharing settings icon
  • In the "Share with people and groups" pop-up, look to the top-right and click the settings icon.
  • Some new options will appear - un-check the box "Viewers and commenters can see the option to download, print and copy".
  • Click the arrow to go back to the sharing settings.
  • Click "Done".

Are your students emailing you to request access to a Google document that you know you have already shared with the class?

It may be that the student has another Google account that is conflicting with their Ryerson account, and is preventing them from accessing your shared resources.

Here is a workflow that should prevent this problem.

These instructions can also be found on the student guide to accessing content in D2L Brightspace - please feel free to share it with them.

Google drive warning "you need access"
Google settings "Add another account"

These steps will help to ensure you can access content that is shared with you from Google Drive.

  1. Go to google.com, external link and click on the user icon in the top-right corner. Not only will this page tell you which account you are currently logged into, you will be able to logout or add your Ryerson account to this list.
  2. Once you get to this screen, you can either "sign out of all accounts" (the quick method) or click "add another account" and then proceed to login using your Ryerson email address and password. (In the example here, you will see that I have both my Ryerson account and my personal account listed)
  3. Go to my.ryerson.ca and log out completely. You're going to start the login process from scratch.
  4. After logging out, log back in at my.ryerson.ca. Complete the remaining steps within 30 minutes.
  5. Click on Apps and open Google Drive, just to ensure you have a new session in your Ryerson Google account.
  6. Proceed to the page or application from which you are trying to access shared Google content (D2L Brightspace, email, or another application used in your course).

The "quick method" (logging out of Google) is useful for a one-time access of materials, but adding your Ryerson account will ensure your access isn't impeded long-term. If your course relies heavily on materials shared from Google Drive, adding your Ryerson account may be the better option.

Another tip: use a different web browser for your Ryerson work than for your personal communications. We recommend using Chrome if you use Google tools at Ryerson frequently, so consider using something like Mozilla Firefox or Safari for your personal accounts.

Additional resources for Google Groups at Ryerson: