You are now in the main content area

Team

Wendy Cukier

Founder & Academic Director
Professor, Entrepreneurship & Strategy

Dr. Wendy Cukier, MA, MBA, PhD, DU (hon) LLD (hon)  is a Professor of Entrepreneurship and Strategy, and Founder of the Diversity Institute at Ryerson University. She is the co-author of the bestseller, Innovation Nation: Canadian Leadership from Java to Jurassic Park and former VP of Research and Innovation and more than 200 articles on aspects of diversity, inclusion and innovation.  Dr. Wendy Cukier is one of Canada’s leading experts in disruptive technologies, innovation processes, and diversity and inclusion.  The Diversity Institute has more than 100 research staff and projects include DiversityLeads, which has tracked the representation of women in leadership roles and a host of projects focused specifically on women in technology. The Diversity Institute has also pioneered innovative projects such as the Advanced Digital and Professional Training program (ADaPT), the Women Entrepreneurship Hub and the Newcomer Entrepreneurship Hub. She also leads the Women Entrepreneurship Knowledge Hub and a program of research for the Future Skills Centre as well as the new Inclusive Innovation and Entrepreneurship Network (IIE-Net).  

Wendy received many awards for her work advancing diversity and inclusion, including the Meritorious Service Cross, one of Canada’s highest civilian honours. She has been recognized with the Harry Jerome Diversity Award,  the 2019 CATA Alliance Sara Kirke Award, a YWCA Women of Distinction Award, WXN most powerful women and, most recently, the Canadian Centre for Diversity and Inclusion, Community Builder Award and was named one of the International Women’s Forum 2020 Women Who Make a Difference. She has an MA, MBA, PhD in Management Science and two honorary doctorates

Advisors

Research

Communications

Project Management

Work Study Students

Ella Han
ella.han@ryerson.ca

Tiffany Kotroczo
tiffany.kotroczo@ryerson.ca

Jessica Ayoub
jayoub@ryerson.ca

Pavni Chandani
pavni.chandani@ryerson.ca

Matthew McDonald
mmcdonald@ryerson.ca

Misbah Sarwar
misbah.sarwar@ryerson.ca

Griffin Murdoch
griffin.murdoch@ryerson.ca

Nya Martin-Hemming
nmartinhemming@ryerson.ca

Collaborators

Contributors