You are now in the main content area

2017-18 GRAD Contests winners announced

Awards celebrate top video, selfie contest entries
February 09, 2018

The Yeates School of Graduate Studies and the Offices of Community Engagement and Social Innovation revealed the winners of the 2017-18 GRAD Contests ("How will you create change in your world?" and "ME + 3: How is your graduate education transforming you?") at a special awards ceremony on Feb. 6, 2018.

Graduate students from all faculties showcased their vision for making an impact in their world in a 30-second video presentation. They also shared how their graduate education is changing them in a selfie with three words.

The winners are ...

Contest 1: "How will you create change in your world?"


Conor DeVries, Documentary Media

Sina Dolati-Ardejani, Media Production

Yunqi You, Vinh To & Ayhan Kamran Isaacs, Master of Engineering Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Honourable Mentions

Emilia Zibaei, Master of Digital Media

Mahbub Hasan & Sarah Rashid, Social Work

Patience Adamu, Policy Studies PhD & Ugonna Omeziri, Master of Science in Management

Contest 2: "ME + 3: How is your graduate education transforming you?"


Cyrus Sundar Singh standing in front of large cultural statue: Transmedia, Transnational, Transitional

Cyrus Sundar Singh, Communication and Culture PhD

Natasha Ramoutar holding an IPhone across her eyes, the screen reads: "I see you"

Natasha Ramoutar, Professional Communication MPC

Ryan Fernandes sitting in architecture lab: "Dream, Believe, Persist"

Ryan Fernandes, Architecture MArch

Honourable Mentions

Talia Eylon in office workspace: "I am artist"

Talia Eylon, Documentary Media MFA

Nerissa Karen Cruz standing in front of aeroplane propeller: "Aspire, Inspire, Soar"

Nerissa Karen Cruz, Aerospace Engineering MEng

Angélique Bernabé with Alina Garnham, Busra Ariduru and Jae Yeon Kim: "Activism, Community, Empowerment"

Honourable Mention: Angélique Bernabé, Economics PhD


Contest 3: "ME + 3: People's Choice"

A live People's Choice contest was held on Instagram during the awards on Feb. 6. Winners were determined by popular vote. Congratulations to all!

Erin Bergeron and Emilia Vydelingum, Immigration and Settlement Studies

Jennifer Chang: "Empower, Engage, Eat!"

Jennifer Chang, Nutrition Communication 

Katherine Speur: "Interactive, Inspired, Interpersonal."

Katherine Speur, Media Production