Skip to main content

Faculty


Haitham Aboshosha, PhD, PEng
Assistant Professor
E: habo@ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext 6473
Website
Research Areas: Tall buildings, medium and long span bridges, prediction of thunderstorm wind speeds and effect of climate change, response of mid-rise wood structures to lateral loads.

 

Lamya Amleh, PhD, PEng
Associate Professor
E: lamleh@ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext 6417

Website
Research Areas: Preservation and rehabilitation of infrastructure, corrosion, durability of structures, high and ultra-high performance concrete


Michael Chapman, PhD, PEng
Professor
E: mchapman@ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext 6461

Website
Research Areas: Camera and sensor calibration, digital photogrammetry, digital terrain modelling, high-precision deformation monitoring, mobile sensors, sensor integration

 

Said Easa, PhD, PEng
Professor
E: seasa@ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext 7868

Website
Research Areas: Geometric design, human factors, road safety, traffic operations and management, intelligent transportation systems

 

Ahmed El-Rabbany, PhD, PEng.
Professor
E: rabbany@ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext 6472
Website
Research Areas: Satellite positioning and navigation, integrated navigation systems, hydrographic surveying


Elsayed Elbeshbishy, PhD, PEng.
Assistant Professor
E: elsayed.elbeshbishy@ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext. 7618
Website
Research Areas: Anaerobic digestion, pretreatment of municipal solid wastes, co-digestion, biohydrogen and biomethane production, nutrient recovery from waste and wastewater, microbial electrolysis cell and microbial fuel cell and anaerobic membrane bioreactor (AnMBR) 
 

Bilal Farooq, PhD
Assistant Professor
E: bilal.farooq@ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext 6456
Research Areas: Travel demand modelling, disruptive transportation innovations, pedestrian movement, behavioural modelling and simulation, ubiquitous sensing
 

Khandaker Anwar Hossain, PhD, PEng
Professor
E: ahossain@ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext 7867

Website
Research Areas: Sustainable construction, High performance concrete, Composite structures, Finite element modelling


Darko Joksimovic, PhD, PEng
Assistant Professor
E: darkoj@ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext 6462

Website
Research Areas: urban drainage, water reuse, low impact development, modelling, optimization
 

Reza Kianoush, PhD, PEng
Professor
E: kianoush@ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext 6455
Website

Research Areas: Analytical and experimental studies on seismic response of reinforced concrete structures, cracking and leakage criteria in concrete liquid containing structures

 

Mohamed Lachemi, PhD, PEng
President and Vice-Chancellor
T: 416-979-5002
Website
Research Areas: Behaviour of structures and properties of concrete materials; development & use of self consolidating concrete

 

James Li, PhD, PEng
Professor
E: jyli@ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext 6470
Website
Research Areas: environmental hydraulics, hydrologic modelling, persistent toxic chemical analysis, urban green technology

 

Songnian Li, PhD, PEng
Associate Chair, Graduate Program
Professor
E: snli@ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext 6450

Website
Research Areas: geographical information systems (GIS), web-based spatial information infrastructure, geocollaboration, dynamic geospatial service computing, big spatial data processing and analytics, geographic effects on social networks
 

Jinyuan Liu, PhD, DEng, PEng, PE 
Professor
E: Jinyuan.liu@ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext 6469

Website
Research Areas: Geotechnical engineering, deep excavation, urban tunnelling, soil-structural interaction, physical modelling, transparent soil, ultrasonic NDT, soil nailing, tieback anchor
 

Hesham Marzouk, PhD, PEng
Professor
E: hmarzouk@Ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext 6451
Website
Research Areas: Concrete slabs, high rise design, high strength concrete, creep of concrete, strengthening of structures

Saber Moradi, PhD
Assistant Professor
E: s.moradi@ryerson.ca

T: 416-979-5000 ext 7905
Website

Research Areas: Structural engineering, Computational modelling and finite element simulation, Steel structures, Earthquake hazard mitigation of buildings and bridges, Multi-criteria optimization and design of experiments, Innovative systems and materials for sustainable and resilient infrastructure
 

Bhagwant Persaud, PhD, PEng
Professor
E: bpersaud@ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext 6464

Website
Research Areas: traffic safety and engineering, statistical modelling and geometric design

 

Khaled Sennah, PhD, PEng
Department Chair 
Professor
E: ksennah@ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext 6460

Website
Research Areas: Bridge design, rehabilitation and strengthening, FRP-reinforced concrete bridge decks and barriers, non-destructive evaluation of bridges, cold-formed steel, sandwich foam-timber panels

 

Ahmed Shaker, PhD
Assistant Professor
E: ahmed.shaker@ryerson.ca
Website
Research Areas: Remote sensing, sensor modelling, image classification, LiDAR processing, image geo-referencing


Medhat Shehata, PhD, PEng
Professor 
Associate Chair, Undergraduate Program
E: mshehata@ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext 6457
Website
Research Areas: alkali-aggregate reaction; concrete durability; pervious pavements; innovative sustainable materials

 

Arnold Yuan, PhD, PEng
Associate Professor
E:  arnold.yuan@ryerson.ca
T: 416-979-5000 ext 6463
Website
Research Areas: Life-cycle infrastructure management; risk and reliability analysis; uncertainty mathematics and modelling; risk-informed decision making