Skip to main content
Law Centre: Innovation, Experimentation, Research


The Law Centre regularly features profiles of faculty and external experts associated with the law centre.

Get personal insight into our researchers' lifes, their thoughts on legal issues and their future projects! What do our researchers think about Ryerson? How did they become researchers and what do they do in their down time?

    Visiting Scholars

    Constance L. Sugiyama

    Distinguished Visiting Scholar, Law Centre

    Constance Sugiyama is one of Canada’s leading corporate lawyers and former Deputy Chair and Partner of Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP.

    She has been recognized as a leading Canadian corporate and M&A lawyer by Lexpert, Best Lawyers and Chambers Global. She has also been recognized by Women in Capital Markets. Twice she was named one of Canada’s Top 100 Most Powerful Women by the Women’s Executive Network.

    In addition to her prominent legal career, Ms. Sugiyama has extensive experience serving on many public and private sector boards and advisory committees, including among others, the Hospital for Sick Children, Canada Health Infoway, The Toronto International Film Festival Group, SickKids Foundation, LuminaTO, the Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre, and Women in Capital Markets.

    The Honourable Mr. Justice Michael H. Tulloch

    Distinguished Visiting Scholar, Law Centre

    The Honourable Mr. Justice Michael H. Tulloch was appointed a Judge of the Ontario Court of Appeal in June 2012. Prior to his elevation, Justice Tulloch was a judge of the Superior Court of Justice, presiding within the Central West Region of Ontario.

    Prior to his appointment to the Bench, Mr. Justice Tulloch was appointed an Assistant Crown Attorney in 1991 where he was instrumental in implementing the Martin Committee Report. In 1995, Justice Tulloch entered private practice, specializing in criminal law.

    Justice Tulloch is actively involved in post-secondary education. In 2006 Mr. Justice Tulloch chaired a Review Panel of the Osgoode Hall Law School’s Admissions Policy, after which the majority of the panel’s recommendations       were accepted and implemented by the law school. He is a founding member of The Second Chance Scholarship Foundation and is a current member of the Board of Directors of the Osgoode Society on Legal History.