Skip to main content
Brueggle city at night

<br _rte_temp_br="brEOB">

 

 

People

Below is the contact information for our faculty and staff. Select an individual faculty member's name for a detailed bio.

 

Chair
Name and Profile Area of Interest Location Phone/Email
Zawada, Kinga*
PhD, MA Tor.; BA York (Glendon)
20th-century French, Québécois and Francophone drama, theatre semiotics, theories of otherness in literary discourse, representation of myths in contemporary literature JOR 520 416-979-5000, ext 6130
kzawada@ryerson.ca
Undergraduate Program Director
Name and Profile Area of Interest Location Phone/Email
Zafra, Enriqueta*
PhD, MA Tor.; BA Granada
Early Modern Spanish Peninsular literature and culture, gender studies, picaresque novel, Cervantes JOR 527

 

416-979-5000, ext 2262
ezafra@ryerson.ca
Administrators
Name Location Phone Email
Melissa Paola, Departmental Administrator
POD 249B 416-979-5000 ext 553456   melissa.paola@ryerson.ca
Wendy Crolla, Program Administrator
POD 249A 416-979-5000 ext TBD   wcrolla@ryerson.ca
Placement Test Advisors
Name and Profile Area of Interest Location Phone/Email
Arabic:
Ibrahim, Rania
PhD Alexandria, MA Reading, BA Alexandria
Applied linguistics, language assessment, listening comprehension JOR 526 416-979-5000, ext 4198
rania.ibrahim@ryerson.ca
ASL:
Winiarczyk, Nina
MA, BA Gallaudet University
American Sign Language, Deaf culture, semantics, classifiers and non-manual signals, sign production
POD 247G nwiniarczyk@ryerson.ca
Chinese:
Stowe, John Edward
PhD Tor., EdD Columbia, MA National Taiwan
Chinese language pedagogy, contemporary Chinese literature, Canadian Chinese literature, the traditional Chinese novel, traditional Chinese culture, Chinese to English translation JOR 526 416-979-5000, ext 4198
jstowe@ryerson.ca
ESL/EAL:
Toomsalu, Marju
MA OISE/Toronto, BA Tartu
Second language acquisition POD 247C 416-979-5000, ext 554196
mtoomsal@ryerson.ca
French:
Popic, Lara
PhD, MA Tor.; BA University of Novi Sad
19th century French literature, George Sand, narratology, literature and values, feminist theory, vulnerability, emotions, literature and cinema POD 247F 416-979-5000, ext 554198
lpopic@ryerson.ca
Spanish:
Garvida, Mignette
PhD Philippines (Diliman); BA, MeD Toronto
Comparative studies, Spanish influence on Philippine Hispanic literature, 19th century Peninsular prose, the role of women in Hispanic literature POD 247H 416-979-5000, ext 556113
mgarvida@ryerson.ca
Faculty
Name and Profile Area of Interest Location Phone/Email
Ba, Ndeye
PhD Western; MA Nebraska; BA Cheikh Anta Diop
Enunciation, plurilingualism, comparative literature, African novels, postcolonialism, Francophonie and women’s writing
 
JOR 516 416-979-5000, ext 6113
ndeye.ba@ryerson.ca
Collette, Marianella*
PhD, MA Tor.; BA York
Latin-American literature and culture, feminist theory
 
JOR 522 416-979-5000, ext 6147
collette@ryerson.ca
Fiola, Marco A.*
PhD, DEA, Mtl., MA, BA, Paris III
Translation theory, community interpreting, gender and discourse Fellow at Massey College, University of Toronto
[currently on sabbatical]
416-979-5000, ext 2743
mfiola@ryerson.ca

[On Sabbatical: 2019-2020]
Hauck, Gerd*
PhD Tor., MLitt Cambridge, MA Sussex
Theatre and cultural studies, intermediality, dramaturgy, Samuel Beckett, German literature and culture
 
POD 469 416-979-5000, ext 3614
gerd.hauck@ryerson.ca
Kellett, Kathleen*
PhD, MA Tor.; BA S. Fraser
Quebec/Franco-Canadian literature and culture, Francophone women's fiction, Francophone short story, narratology, feminist theory JOR 118
[Associate Dean of Students, Faculty of Arts]
416.979.5000, ext 6196
kkellett@ryerson.ca
Osborne, Dana*
PhD, MA U. Arizona; BS Cal. Poly. Pomona
Linguistic anthropology, psycholinguistics, language contact and change, applied anthropology, visual anthropology, Ilocano, Philippines JOR 520A 416-979-5000, ext 4695
dana.osborne@ryerson.ca
Pelkey, Jamin*
PhD La Trobe, MA Payap, BA Montana
Cognitive linguistics, semiotics, anthropology of language, philology, embodied cognition, Ngwi languages GER 202
[currently on sabbatical]
416-979-5000, ext 2523
jpelkey@ryerson.ca

[On Sabbatical: 2019-2020]
Walsh Matthews, Stéphanie*
PhD, MA, Tor; MA Col. Tor.; BA Ottawa
Contemporary Québécois literature, magic realism, semiotics, cognitive linguistics, postcolonial theories, HRI, psychoanalysis JOR 528
[ACS Director]
416-979-5000, ext 7357
swalsh@arts.ryerson.ca
 
Yu, Hongbing
PhD, MA Nanjing Normal University, BA Hefei University
Sociolinguistics, semiotics, cognition, philosophy of language, intercultural communication, Chinese language and culture, Chinese philosophy JOR 524
416-979-5000, ext 543620
hongbing@ryerson.ca

* Members of the School of Graduate Studies      
Contract Lecturers
Name
Areas of Interest Location Phone/Email
Blila, Safaa Arabic JOR 515 416-979-5000 ext 6156
safaa.blila@ryerson.ca
Charles, Merlin
French JOR 526 416-979-5000, ext 4198
merlin.charles@ryerson.ca
Dans, Ronald
ASL POD 247G
ronald.dans@ryerson.ca
Debrée, Dominique
French JOR 526 416-979-5000, ext 4198
ddebree@ryerson.ca
Diaz, Dorismel
Spanish JOR 526 416-979-5000, ext 4198
dorismeldp@ryerson.ca
Garvida, Mignette
Spanish JOR 516 416-979-5000, ext 6113
mgarvida@ryerson.ca
Glogowski, Patricia
ESL JOR 526 416-979-5000, ext 4198
pglogowski@ryerson.ca
Hart, David
Greek JOR 526 416-979-5000, ext 4198
david.hart@ryerson.ca
Ibrahim, Rania
Arabic JOR 526 416-979-5000, ext 4198
rania.ibrahim@ryerson.ca
Lorioz, Jacques French POD 247I 416.979.5000, ext 556151
jlorioz@ryerson.ca
Martel, Myriam
Spanish JOR 526 416-979-5000, ext 4198
mmartel@ryerson.ca
Pages, Heriberto
Spanish JOR 526 416-979-5000, ext 4198
hpages@ryerson.ca
Popic, Lara
French JOR 526 416-979-5000, ext 4198
lpopic@ryerson.ca
Rombaut, Marie-Catherine
French JOR 526 416-979-5000, ext 4198
mc.rombaut@ryerson.ca
Stowe, John
Chinese JOR 526 416-979-5000, ext 4198
jstowe@ryerson.ca
Timoshenkova, Evguénia
French JOR 526 416-979-5000, ext 4198
evgenia.timoshenkova@ryerson.ca
Tousson, Rawya French JOR 526 416-979-5000, ext 4198
rtousson@ryerson.ca
Winiarczyk, Nina
ASL JOR 526
nwiniarczyk@ryerson.ca
Witek, Mirella
French JOR 526 416-979-5000, ext 4198
mirella.witek@ryerson.ca
Wu, Qian
Chinese JOR 526 416-979-5000, ext 4198
qianwu@ryerson.ca
Language Tutors
Name Language Location Phone/Email
  Chinese POD 375 chinesetutor@llc.ryerson.ca
  Spanish POD 375 spanishtutor@llc.ryerson.ca
  French POD 375 frenchtutor@llc.ryerson.ca
  Arabic POD 375 arabictutor@llc.ryerson.ca
Emeritus Faculty
Name and Profile Area of Interest Location Phone/Email
Finn, Michael*
PhD Harv.; MA, BA Tor.
Médecine and literature, 1850-1920, 19th-Century French sexology, decadent authors, Rachilde, Proust [Emeritus] mfinn@ryerson.ca