You are now in the main content area

Experts on Covid-19

Tourism

Zhen Lu
Professor, Ted Rogers School of Management
Expertise: Crisis management in the hospitality and tourism industry, Chinese tourism and hotel management, food tourism
Contact: zhenlu@ryerson.ca
Bio: https://bit.ly/2O52op3, external link

Chris Gibbs
Associate Professor, Ted Rogers School of Management
Contact: cgibbs@ryerson.ca
Expertise: travel-specific cancellations and policies (i.e. sports, Air BnBs)
Bio: http://experts.ryerson.ca/chris-gibbs

Frederic Dimanche
Professor, Ted Rogers School of Management
Expertise: tourism industry, economy, tourism marketing
Contact: 416-979-5117 (office), fdimanche@ryerson.ca
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/frederic-dimanche

Economy

Karim Bardeesy
Distinguished Visiting Professor
Co-Founder & Executive Director of the Ryerson Leadership Lab
Expertise: federal and provincial politics, public policy, opinion journalism
Contact: kbardeesy@gmail.com, Mobile: (416) 556-1490
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/karim-bardeesy-1

Vik Singh
Professor, Ted Rogers School of Management
Expertise: Global financial markets, culture dimensions and global economy
Contact: vik.singh@ryerson.ca
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/vik-singh

COVID-19 Economics and financial crisis

Laleh Samarbakhsh
Assistant Professor, Ted Rogers School of Management
Expertise: Financial crisis and credit risk, Corporate finance, personal finance, investments, small and medium enterprises
Contact: lsamarbakhsh@ryerson.ca
Bio: http://experts.ryerson.ca/laleh-samarbakhsh

Education

Gary Hepburn
Dean, Chang School of Continuing Education
Expertise: online learning, educational technology
Contact: Please contact Dean Hepburn through Brendan Curran: 437-999-1579 or Marilou Cruz 647-643-1230
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/gary-hepburn

Health aspects

James Tiessen
Associate Professor and Director, Health Services Management
Ted Rogers School of Management
Expertise: Health-care policy and management; how could a vaccine be rolled out
Contact: jhtiessen@ryerson.ca
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/james-tiessen

Nancy Walton
Director, Daphne Cockwell School of Nursing
Expertise: Healthcare; how to protect yourself
Contact: nwalton@ryerson.ca; 416-979-500 ext. 6307
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/nancy-walton

Jordan Tustin
Assistant Professor
Faculty of Community Services
Expertise: Outbreaks, communicable disease prevention and control; impact of public health cuts on the management of COVID-19
Contact: jtustin@ryerson.ca
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/jordan-tustin  

Policy

Arne Kislenko
Associate Professor, Faculty of Arts
Expertise: National security
Contact: akisklenk@ryerson.ca; 416-979-5000 x6206
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/arne-kislenko

Jessica Mudry
Associate Professor, School of Professional Communication
Expertise: Public health policy
Contact: jessica.mudry@ryerson.ca; 416-979-5000 x3303
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/jessica-mudry

Cathy Crowe
Distinguished Visiting Practitioner
Department of Politics and Public Administration
Expertise: homelessness, affordable housing, nursing
Contact: 416-560-7235 (mobile) or 416-979-5000 ext. 3282
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/cathy-crowe-1, opens in new window

Sports cancellations, impact

Laurel Walzak
Professor, Global Experiential Sport (GXS) Lab, Faculty of Communication and Design
Expertise: professional sports, sports business
Contact: lwalzak@ryerson.ca
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/laurel-walzak

Misinformation

Ramona Pringle
Professor, RTA School of Media
Expertise: spread of misinformation, social media, current affairs, digital culture
Contact: ramona.pringle@ryerson.ca
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/ramona-pringle

COVID-19 from a humanities perspective

Irene Gammel
Professor, Department of English
Expertise: literature of crisis, trauma and mourning; war, culture and the media; narrative of loss and grieving; public humanities.
Contact: gammel@ryerson.ca
Bio: https://www.ryerson.ca/english/about-us/faculty-and-staff/faculty/gammel-irene/