You are now in the main content area

Experts on Covid-19

Communicable disease experts

Thomas Tenkate
Professor, School of Occupational & Public Health
Expertise: Health and safety risk management and assessment, infectious disease risk management, Covid-19, vaccines
Contact: thomas.tenkate@ryerson.ca; 647-523-4426
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/thomas-tenkate

Timothy Sly
Professor Emeritus, School of Occupational and Public Health
Expertise: Epidemiology (Communicable-diseases & food borne diseases), risk-assessment, risk-communication, pandemics
Contact: tsly@ryerson.ca
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/tim-sly

Economy

Karim Bardeesy
Distinguished Visiting Professor
Co-Founder & Executive Director of the Ryerson Leadership Lab
Expertise: federal and provincial politics, public policy, opinion journalism
Contact: kbardeesy@gmail.com, Mobile: (416) 556-1490
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/karim-bardeesy-1

Laleh Samarbakhsh
Associate Professor, Ted Rogers School of Management
Expertise: Financial crisis and credit risk, Corporate finance, personal finance, investments, small and medium enterprises
Contact: lsamarbakhsh@ryerson.ca
Bio: http://experts.ryerson.ca/laleh-samarbakhsh

Vik Singh
Professor, Ted Rogers School of Management
Expertise: Global financial markets, culture dimensions and global economy
Contact: vik.singh@ryerson.ca
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/vik-singh

Education

Gary Hepburn
Dean, Chang School of Continuing Education
Expertise: online learning, educational technology
Contact: Please contact Dean Hepburn through Brendan Curran: 437-999-1579 or Marilou Cruz 647-643-1230
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/gary-hepburn

Health aspects

James Tiessen
Director, Master of Health Administration (Community Care)
Ted Rogers School of Management
Expertise: Health-care policy and management; how could a vaccine be rolled out
Contact: jhtiessen@ryerson.ca
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/james-tiessen

Nancy Walton
Director, Daphne Cockwell School of Nursing
Expertise: Healthcare; how to protect yourself
Contact: nwalton@ryerson.ca; 416-979-500 ext. 6307
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/nancy-walton

Humanities (mental health, workplace culture, etc)

Irene Gammel
Professor, Department of English
Expertise: literature of crisis, trauma and mourning; war, culture and the media; narrative of loss and grieving; public humanities.
Contact: gammel@ryerson.ca
Bio: https://www.ryerson.ca/english/about-us/faculty-and-staff/faculty/gammel-irene/

Corinne Hart*
Associate Professor, Daphne Cockwell School of Nursing
Expertise: Student mental health; community health and public health issues 
Contact: c4hart@ryerson.ca; 416-648-6603 
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/corinne-hart
*On sabbatical beginning September 2021

Josephine Wong
Professor, Daphne Cockwell School of Nursing
Expertise: COVID-19-related mental health; pandemic xenophobia and racism; health equity.
Contact: jph.wong@ryerson.ca; 416-979-5000 ext.556303
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/josephine-wong-1

Law/Legal issues

Kathleen Hammond
Assistant Professor, Lincoln Alexander School of Law
Expertise: Government accountability, civil liability, access to reproductive health services during COVID-19, inequalities in the Canadian COVID-19 response.
Contact: kathleen.hammond@ryerson.ca
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/kathleen-hammond-1

Media, misinformation

Ramona Pringle
Professor, RTA Media
Expertise: spread of misinformation, social media, current affairs, digital culture
Contact: ramona.pringle@ryerson.ca
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/ramona-pringle

Policy

Arne Kislenko
Associate Professor, Faculty of Arts
Expertise: National security
Contact: akisklenk@ryerson.ca; 416-979-5000 x6206
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/arne-kislenko

Jessica Mudry
Associate Professor, School of Professional Communication
Expertise: Public health policy
Contact: jessica.mudry@ryerson.ca; 416-979-5000 x3303
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/jessica-mudry

Cathy Crowe
Distinguished Visiting Practitioner
Department of Politics and Public Administration
Expertise: homelessness, affordable housing, nursing
Contact: 416-560-7235 (mobile) or 416-979-5000 ext. 3282
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/cathy-crowe-1, opens in new window

Chris Gore
Professor, Department of Politics and Public Administration
Expertise: Climate change, environmental politics and policy
Contact: chris.gore@ryerson.ca; (416)- 979-5000 ext. 2703
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/christopher-gore

Sports cancellations, impact

Cheri Bradish
Professor, Ted Rogers School of Management
Director, Future of Sport Lab
Contact: cbradish@ryerson.ca
Expertise: Sport and social impact, COVID-19 impact on sport, Tokyo Olympics
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/cheri-bradish

Laurel Walzak
Professor, Global Experiential Sport (GXS) Lab, The Creative School
Expertise: professional sports, sports business
Contact: lwalzak@ryerson.ca
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/laurel-walzak

Tourism

Frederic Dimanche
Professor, Ted Rogers School of Management
Expertise: tourism industry, economy, tourism marketing
Contact: 416-979-5117 (office), fdimanche@ryerson.ca
Bio: https://experts.ryerson.ca/frederic-dimanche

Workplace - Remote work, shift in culture

Michael Halinski
Associate Professor, Ted Rogers School of Management
Expertise: Organizational change, work-life balance, engagement, human resources, going back to work post-COVID
Contact: michael.halinksi@ryerson.ca
Bio: https://bit.ly/3qQNd54, external link