You are now in the main content area

Schedule

Faculty of Arts - National Forum on Anti-Asian Racism: Building Solidarities.

This space will be inclusive and safe. By participating in today’s event, you are agreeing to: 

Recognize our starting point

  • Acknowledge and actively address that Canada is a country that was founded upon and maintained by, a colonial genocide against Indigenous peoples in which gender-based violence and the systemic oppression of racialized peoples are key tools.
  • Recognize that we must all strive to overcome historical and divisive biases, such as racism and sexism, in our society.
  • Agree that no one should be required or expected to speak for their whole race or gender. We can't, even if we wanted to.

Treat all people with dignity and respect

  • Name calling, trolling, harassment, excessive interruption, in either live sessions or direct messages are strictly prohibited. 
  • Trust that everyone has come to the Forum to learn, grow, and share. We acknowledge that we may be at different stages of learning on the content and discussion topics. We will trust that people will do the best they can. We all make mistakes and have bad days; when these occur, let's challenge and encourage each other to do better. 
  • Agree not to blame ourselves or others for the misinformation we have learned, but to accept responsibility for not repeating misinformation after we have learned otherwise.

Be open to learning

  • Be curious, recognizing that the best way to understand the choices, actions, or intentions of one another is by asking. Default to direct communication, and ask questions before making assumptions.
  • Recognize that everyone is coming to this conversation from different social locations, with different histories and experiences connected to this issue. Use I statements when sharing a personal perspective on which you cannot speak for anyone but yourself. 
  • Stay flexible and patient, as some presenters are speaking for the first time. Let’s cheer each other on and recognize that technology challenges or schedule shifts may occur throughout the Forum.

Care for ourselves and each other

  • Speak up against harm in all its forms and strive for mutual respect and understanding.
  • Acknowledge that racism has impacts on our mental, spiritual, emotional and physical well-being. Focus on your self-care and connect with support if and when it works for you.
  • Respect others’ boundaries. If someone does not want to engage or discuss a subject further, listen, respond with care and attend to your feelings.
  • Ask for help when needed. It's okay not to know or to need support. Keep in mind that we are all still learning and are bound to make mistakes when approaching a complex task or exploring new ideas. Be open to changing your mind, and make space for others to do so as well.

Event admins will use discretion to mute or delete content that violates these rules.

Participants are welcome to join as many sessions as they are able to attend. Recordings of all sessions will be shared with registrants following the forum.

Tuesday, November 9, 2021

Day 1 Sessions

8 a.m. (PST) | 9 a.m. (MST) | 10 a.m. (CST) | 11 a.m. (EST) | 12 p.m. (AST) | 12:30 p.m. (NST)

Welcome and Opening Remarks

8:45 a.m. (PST) | 9:45 a.m. (MST) | 10:45 a.m. (CST) | 11:45 a.m. (EST) | 12:45 p.m. (AST) | 1:15 p.m. (NST)

Plenary Panel #1
Understanding the Asian and Asian Canadian Experience in Higher Education

10:15 a.m. (PST) | 11:15 a.m. (MST) | 12:15 p.m. (CST) | 1:15 p.m. (EST) | 2:15 p.m. (AST) | 2:45 p.m. (NST)

Break #1
Special Performance: UHHU (Urban Hip Hop Union)

10:30 a.m. (PST) | 11:30 a.m. (MST) | 12:30 p.m. (CST) | 1:30 p.m. (EST) | 2:30 p.m. (AST) | 3 p.m. (NST)

Interview:
Personal Journeys of Racialized Leaders in Higher Education

10:35 a.m. (PST) | 11:35 a.m. (MST) | 12:35 p.m. (CST) | 1:35 p.m. (EST) | 2:35 p.m. (AST) | 3:05 p.m. (NST)

Break

10:45 a.m. (PST) | 11:45 a.m. (MST) | 12:45 p.m. (CST) | 1:45 p.m. (EST) | 2:45 p.m. (AST) | 3:15 p.m. (NST)

Plenary Panel #2
Addressing Racism in the Classroom

12 p.m. (PST) | 1 p.m. (MST) | 2 p.m. (CST) | 3 p.m. (EST) | 4 p.m. (AST) | 4:30 p.m. (NST)

Break / Networking

12:45 p.m. (PST) | 1:45 p.m. (MST) | 2:45 p.m. (CST) | 3:45 p.m. (EST) | 4:45 p.m. (AST) | 5:15 p.m. (NST)

Plenary Panel #3
Disrupting the Status Quo: Mobilizing Action to Address Anti-Asian Racism

2:05 p.m. (PST) | 3:05 p.m. (MST) | 4:05 p.m. (CST) | 5:05 p.m. (EST) | 6:05 p.m. (AST) | 6:35 p.m. (NST)

Concurrent Sessions

Concurrent Session #1

Asian Studies & Asian Canadian Studies: Challenges & Opportunities

Concurrent Session #2

Legal Education & Anti-Asian Racism in the Legal System

Concurrent Session #3

Faculty Representation: University Recruitment, Retention & Promotion

Concurrent Session #4

The Intersectionality of Gender, Sexual Orientation & Asian Identities

Concurrent Session #5

Lived Experiences & Opportunities for Asian Canadian Staff

3:20 p.m. (PST) | 4:20 p.m. (MST) | 5:20 p.m. (CST) | 6:20 p.m. (EST) | 7:20 p.m. (AST) | 7:50 p.m. (NST)

Break / Networking / Rest Relaxation Room

4 p.m. (PST) | 5 p.m. (MST) | 6 p.m. (CST) | 7 p.m. (EST) | 8 p.m. (AST) | 8:30 p.m. (NST)

Closing Remarks and Reflections

4:45 p.m. (PST) | 5:45 p.m. (MST) | 6:45 p.m. (CST) | 7:45 p.m. (EST) | 8:45 p.m. (AST) | 9:15 p.m. (NST)

End of Day 1

Wednesday, November 10, 2021

Day 2 Sessions

8 a.m. (PST) | 9 a.m. (MST) | 10 a.m. (CST) | 11 a.m. (EST) | 12 p.m. (AST) | 12:30 p.m. (NST)

Welcome and Keynote Remarks

8:45 a.m. (PST) | 9:45 a.m. (MST) | 10:45 a.m. (CST) | 11:45 a.m. (EST) | 12:45 p.m. (AST) | 1:15 p.m. (NST)

Concurrent Sessions

Concurrent Session #6

Ethics of Representing Asian Communities in Research

Concurrent Session #7

Building Alliances to Confront Anti-Asian Racism

Concurrent Session #8

Addressing Sexual Violence Targeted at Southeast & East Asian Communities in Higher Education hosted by Consent Comes First

Concurrent Session #9

In Conversation: Equity & Community Inclusion Leaders on the Issues of Racism  

Concurrent Session #10

Precarity & Racism: Upward Mobility in Academia

10:05 a.m. (PST) | 11:05 a.m. (MST) | 12:05 p.m. (CST) | 1:05 p.m. (EST) | 2:05 p.m. (AST) | 2:35 p.m. (NST)

Interview:
Personal Journeys of Racialized Leaders in Higher Education


10:30 a.m. (PST) | 11:30 a.m. (MST) | 12:30 p.m. (CST) | 1:30 p.m. (EST) | 2:30 p.m. | 3 p.m. (NST)

Plenary Panel #4
Coalition Building: Dismantling Systems of Oppression to Build Solidarity

11:45 a.m. (PST) | 12:45 p.m. (MST) | 1:45 p.m. (CST) | 2:45 p.m. (EST) | 3:45 p.m. (AST) | 4:15 p.m. (NST)

Break / Networking

12:30 p.m. (PST) | 1:30 p.m. (MST) | 2:30 p.m. (CST) | 3:30 p.m. (EST) | 4:30 p.m. (AST) | 5 p.m. (NST)

Plenary Panel #5
Racialized Representation in Student Governance and Leadership

1:50 p.m. (PST) | 2:50 p.m. (MST) | 3:50 p.m. (CST) | 4:50 p.m. (EST) | 5:50 p.m. (AST) | 6:20 p.m. (NST)

Plenary Panel #6
In Conversation: University Provosts on the Issues of Accountability and Racism in Universities

3:05 p.m. (PST) | 4:05 p.m. (MST) | 5:05 p.m. (CST) | 6:05 p.m. (EST) | 7:05 p.m. | 7:35 p.m. (NST)

Special Performance:
Adrian Sutherland (Midnight Shine)

3:20 p.m. (PST) | 4:20 p.m. (MST) | 5:20 p.m. (CST) | 6:20 p.m. (EST) | 7:20 p.m. (AST) | 7:50 p.m. (NST)

Break / Networking / Rest Relaxation Room

4 p.m. (PST) | 5 p.m. (MST) | 6 p.m. (CST) | 7 p.m. (EST) | 8 p.m. (AST) | 8:30 p.m. (NST)

Closing Remarks and Reflections

4:45 p.m. (PST) | 5:45 p.m. (MST) | 6:45 p.m. (CST) | 7:45 p.m. (EST) | 8:45 p.m. (AST) | 9:15 p.m. (NST)

Day 2 Ends

Event organizers

This event was organized by the Faculty of Arts at Ryerson University (renaming in process), in partnership with UBC, the University of Manitoba and in collaboration with students and faculty from a number of other Canadian universities.