You are now in the main content area

Charles Falzon appointed dean, Faculty of Communication & Design

Current chair of RTA School of Media begins dean appointment July 1
Category:From the Provost
May 18, 2015
Charles Falzon

Photo: Charles Falzon has been appointed the new FCAD dean. 

I am pleased to announce that Charles Falzon, current chair of The RTA School of Media, has been appointed the dean of the Faculty of Communication & Design (FCAD) at Ryerson University. The five-year appointment is effective July 1, 2015.

Charles has taught at Ryerson for more than 20 years. He first joined the university – his alma mater – as a part-time instructor, bringing his professional expertise as a creative producer and media executive into the classroom and studio. In 2010, he was appointed an associate professor and assumed the role of chair of The RTA School of Media.

Under his leadership, the school has renewed its reputation among students and industry, with faculty members becoming productively engaged in cross-disciplinary collaborations. Curriculum was refreshed across its three undergraduate programs including the recently launched sport media program that is home to the new Sportsnet RTA Production Centre. The Transmedia Zone was established for students to pursue their ideas related to content innovation and RTA Productions was opened as an in-house opportunity for students to participate in professional work. Charles also led a collaborative summer program with UCLA called “RTA in LA.”

In his professional life, Charles has produced nearly 2,000 hours of television programming, feature films and documentaries, and his work has been recognized within the industry including several Gemini awards and an international Emmy nomination. He is co-founder of CCI Entertainment Ltd., and the former president of Gullane Entertainment PLC, a multinational public company. In this role, he oversaw children’s book publishing, led global operations of the Guinness Book of World Records franchise, and was the global brand president for children’s properties such as Thomas the Tank Engine. Charles is the founding chairperson of the Canadian Film and Television Production Association (now the Canadian Media Production Association) and served as a governor of the Banff Film Festival.

Charles, who graduated from Ryerson’s Radio and Television Arts undergraduate program, holds a master’s in theology from the University of Toronto and a master’s in spirituality from Regis College. He teaches at the undergraduate and graduate level with a particular focus on media ethics and media business.

I would like to offer my sincere thanks to Gerd Hauck, who is completing his term as dean of FCAD on June 30, 2015. Since joining Ryerson in 2010 from the University of Waterloo, Gerd has demonstrated a commitment to excellence in overseeing the faculty’s nine schools. During his tenure, new undergraduate degrees were launched in creative industries, professional communication and sport media, and a highly successful interdisciplinary master’s in digital media. Gerd has championed a culture of scholarly, creative and research activity, and supported the establishment of three zones in fashion, transmedia and design fabrication for students to pursue their creative and entrepreneurial ideas. Partnerships, particularly with academic and creative institutions from around the world, have figured prominently in furthering the faculty’s reputation.

Thank you to the members of the search committee, whose names are listed below, for their willingness to serve.

Please join me in congratulating Charles on his appointment.

Mohamed Lachemi 
Provost and Vice President Academic

Members of the search committee for dean, FCAD:

Marta Braun
Professor, School of Image Arts

Susan Cody
Professor, School of Professional Communication

Michael Coutanche
Professor, RTA School of Media

Usha George
Dean, Faculty of Community Services

April Lindgren
Professor, School of Journalism

Olga Okhrimenko
Student, Fashion Design

Perry Schneiderman
Professor, Ryerson Theatre School

Peggy Shannon
Chair, Ryerson Theatre School

Ivor Shapiro
Chair, School of Journalism

More News