You are now in the main content area

Jennifer Mactavish reappointed dean of the Yeates School of Graduate Studies

First term marked by a strategic approach to building strong foundation
Category:From the President
June 28, 2016

Jennifer Mactavish has been reappointed vice-provost and dean of the Yeates School of Graduate Studies. 

To the Ryerson community:

I am pleased to share with you that Jennifer Mactavish has been reappointed vice-provost and dean of the Yeates School of Graduate Studies.

The past five years in the Yeates School have been marked by a strategic approach to building a strong foundation of excellence and I am confident that under Jennifer’s leadership graduate education will continue its trajectory of evolution and success.

During her first term, Jennifer oversaw the development and implementation of the Graduate School’s first strategic plan, informed by reviews of the school’s activities including student recruitment and retention, enrolment, academic programming, funding, curricular reform, student engagement, professional skills development and marketing and communications. The plan has led to a number of significant accomplishments, including the launch of GradCafé, an advisory board of graduate student leaders; GradTalks, a guest speaker and networking series; the introduction of a gold medal program for the top graduate students in each faculty; the introduction of recognition awards for outstanding contributions to graduate education in each faculty;  the extension of programming for enhancing faculty mentorship skills; and new systems to facilitate more effective admissions and program administration and management.

An internationally recognized scholar, researcher and award winning teacher, Jennifer’s academic focus is on inclusive physical activity, leisure, disability sport and educational psychology. She has a leading-edge research agenda with local and international impact, and an extensive record of external research funding including seven awards from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. Implicit in her research is a strong emphasis on the value and importance of collaboration, reflected in her outstanding record of service. She has been honoured with the International Paralympic Committee Scientific Achievement Award (2015) for her role in the re-inclusion of athletes with intellectual impairment into the Paralympic program, the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal and the Podium Award, Exceptional Research Contribution and Innovation in International Collaboration (2012).

I would like to thank the members of the search committee (listed below) for their willingness to serve in the search and I invite all members of the Ryerson community to join me in congratulating Jennifer on her reappointment.

Mohamed Lachemi
President and Vice-Chancellor


Search Committee for Dean, Yeates School of Graduate Studies:

Michelle Dionne
Professor, Department of Psychology

John Enright
Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering

Alex Ferworn
Graduate Program Director, Department of Computer Science

Miljana Horvat
Interim Associate Dean, Graduate Studies, Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science

Julia Roig
Student, School of Social Work

Chris MacDonald
Professor, Department of Law and Business

David Mason
Professor, Department of Computer Science

Alison Matthews David
Professor, School of Fashion

Paul Moore
Graduate Program Director, Joint Program in Communication & Culture