You are now in the main content area

Carol Shepstone appointed Ryerson’s next chief librarian

Former university librarian of Mount Royal University joins the Ryerson University Library and Archives
Category:From the Provost
May 04, 2017
Carol Shepstone

Photo: As chief librarian, Carol Shepstone will collaborate with all areas of the university supporting the needs of students and faculty.

I am very pleased to announce the appointment of Carol Shepstone as Ryerson’s chief librarian, effective September 11, 2017.

Carol Shepstone has been working in academic libraries for more than 18 years. As the former university librarian at Mount Royal University in Calgary, Alberta, she helped transition the Library through periods of significant institutional change, and provided key leadership in planning the new Riddell Library and Learning Centre facility, which is set to open July 2017.  Her career has also included leadership roles with the University of Saskatchewan Libraries and positions with both the University of British Columbia (UBC) Library system and the Museum of Anthropology at UBC. Carol also has experience working in archives, academic research institutes, and public libraries.

“I am thrilled and honoured to be named Ryerson’s new chief librarian,” said Shepstone. “I’m excited by Ryerson’s student-first approach and the university’s commitment to research and innovation. Ryerson University is a vibrant academic community and I am looking forward to working with the Library and Archives team to advance collaboration with, and support for, our many user communities through the Ryerson University Library and Archives and Student Learning Centre.”

Carol is an active member of many association boards, advisory committees, and academic library consortia. She is currently serving as vice-chair of the Canadian Research Knowledge Network (CRKN), and vice-chair of the Council of Prairie and Pacific University Libraries (COPPUL). Her research interests include organizational culture, perceptions of the value and impact of academic libraries, library building design, and intellectual property.

Carol holds a bachelor of arts in Cultural Anthropology (Museum Studies) from UBC, where she also received her Master of Library and Information Studies.  She is currently pursuing an LLM in intellectual property law from Osgoode Hall Law School on a part-time basis.  

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank Madeleine Lefebvre, our outgoing chief librarian, for her exemplary service, and dedication to her role and to Ryerson. Under her leadership, the Ryerson University Library and Archives became the second academic library in 34 years to be accepted into the Canadian Association of Research Libraries (CARL). Madeleine played a major role in the design, development and creation of our award winning Student Learning Centre (SLC). Her vision of a collaborative learning, digital environment at Ryerson, became the basis for the SLC, which offers our students an outstanding space for learning, collaborating and engaging outside of the classroom. Madeleine has agreed to an extension of her responsibilities until September 10, 2017.

Members of the search committee are listed below and I want to thank each of them for their great contributions to this successful search.

· Sonny Banerjee, Librarian

· Brian Cameron, Librarian

· Naomi Eichenlaub, Librarian (elected as faculty senator)

· Alex Ferworn, Professor, Department of Computer Science and Graduate Program Director, Yeates School of Graduate Studies

· Paulina Gusciora, Undergraduate student, Creative Industries

· Dan Jakubek, Librarian

· Curtis Sassur, Archivist

· Helen Sterghiou, Library Assistant

· Pamela Sugiman, Dean, Faculty of Arts

· Jason Boyd, Professor, Faculty of Arts, Department of English and Co-Director, Centre for Digital Humanities

·  Samantha Wehbi, Professor and Teaching Chair, Faculty of Community Services, School of Social Work

Please join with me in welcoming Carol to Ryerson and offering best wishes in her new role.



Chris Evans

Interim Provost and Vice-President, Academic

More News