You are now in the main content area

Academic Organization

Aerial view of the Quad

Reporting Structure

The provost and vice-president, academic is one of four vice-presidents who report directly to the president of Ryerson University.

The provost is responsible for Ryerson University’s academic growth and operations. People who report to the provost include the five vice-provosts and the deans and directors of Ryerson’s faculties, schools, and academic support services and facilities.

PDF fileView Organization Chart



Ryerson is Canada’s pre-eminent career-focused university. The university is home to:

  • 6 faculties and a graduate school
  • 53 undergraduate programs (13 of which are unique in Canada)
  • 52 master’s and doctoral programs
  • Canada's largest school of continuing education
  • 780 full-time tenured and tenure-track faculty members

Deans oversee each faculty and help shape the academic vision and outcomes of the university.

Ryerson University Library and Archives

The Ryerson University Library and Archives (RULA) plays a vital role in the university’s academic life. Ryerson community members benefit from the library's expertise, resources, materials, and services.

Through its traditional and digital resources, and ongoing commitment to innovation, the Library meets the needs of 21st-century students and researchers.

RULA is overseen by the chief librarian.


Ryerson’s Senate is responsible for making academic policies for the university. Chaired by Ryerson’s president, the Senate consists of 51 elected representatives and 18 ex-officio members of the administration, including the chancellor.