You are now in the main content area

Knowledge Mobilization and Engagement Award Recipients

The Knowledge Mobilization and Engagement Award is a university-wide, annual award presented to one or more researchers who have demonstrated exceptional and outstanding effort in communicating research beyond the University and/or significant impact in shaping evidence-based policy and practice. This award recognizes the ability of the researcher(s) to facilitate conversations and collaborations with external organizations and communities, combining knowledge from different spheres of society to generate new ideas.

Award recipient(s) will receive a certificate of recognition and a monetary award of $2,000 as a one-time payment (subject to applicable deductions).

Key criteria: Scholarly, research and creative activity

2021 recipients

Kristine Newman

Daphne Cockwell School of Nursing, Faculty of Community Services

Kristine Newman is an Associate Professor at the Daphne Cockwell School of Nursing. Professor Newman’s research explores knowledge translation, assistive technologies to detect agitation in persons with dementia, and dementia awareness within intergenerational relations and amongst caregivers. Recognized internationally for her innovation in knowledge mobilization, Professor Newman’s originality in communicating her research is highlighted in projects such as Spare a Thought for Dementia (, external link) and Embody – Experiencing Dementia through New Media. This engagement with audiences, from students to caregivers to community partners, exemplifies excellence in knowledge mobilization beyond the university.

Ivor Shapiro

School of Journalism, Faculty of Communication and Design

Ivor Shapiro’s leadership in the dissemination of scholarly knowledge has had a deep impact on the understanding of journalism practice in this country because of his pioneering approaches to knowledge mobilization and dissemination. Professor Shapiro has shared research findings through a range of non-traditional pathways, including discussion papers for the Canadian Association of Journalists, a blueprint for a national system of press accountability, a series of open-access educational modules focusing on journalism’s role in democracy, a robust website showcasing current debates and best practices in Canadian journalism, and a feature-length documentary illustrating the findings of a national, quantitative survey of journalists.

Past recipients

  • Patrice Dutil
    Department of Politics and Public Administration, Faculty of Arts
  • Candice Monson
    Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts
  • Marusya Bociurkiw
    RTA School of Media, Faculty of Communication and Design
  • Jennifer Lapum
    Daphne Cockwell School of Nursing, Faculty of Community Services