You are now in the main content area

Alan Shepard Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Employee Award Recipients

The Office of the Vice-President, Equity and Community Inclusion (OVPECI) provides the strategic leadership, advocacy, education and coordination needed to address equity, diversity and inclusion throughout the entire Ryerson community and to foster an inclusive, welcoming environment for students, faculty and staff. Alan Shepard was provost and vice-president, academic of Ryerson from 2007 until 2012, and a champion for equity, diversity and inclusion. OVPECI is proud to sponsor the Alan Shepard Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Employee Award, which recognizes the outstanding achievements of individuals or teams/committees who advance EDI through their work and/or their volunteer contributions within the Ryerson community.

Recipients may be awarded in any of the following categories:

  • Staff member
  • Faculty member
  • Senior leader
  • Lifetime achievement
  • Team/Committee

Individual recipients receive a certificate and a one-time monetary award of $3,000 (subject to applicable deductions).

Team recipients (a group of two to ten individuals) receive individual certificates and a total one-time monetary award of $4,000 (subject to applicable deductions) to be shared equally among members.

Although this award recognizes staff and faculty, students or student groups who demonstrate excellence in the area of EDI are also eligible to receive an award. Student or student groups, please visit the AwardSpring page on the Office of the Registrar awards website and log in to find the Alan Shepard Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Student Award.

Key criteria: Equity, diversity and inclusion

2021 recipients

Riley Kucheran

Faculty of Communication and Design

Riley Kucheran is a champion and leader of equity, diversity and inclusion within the Ryerson community. He comes prepared to advocate for equity within every facet of the university including his leadership in the resurgence of the Ryerson Pow Wow, as the Yeates School of Graduate Studies’ first Indigenous Advisor, his work on the Truth & Reconciliation Working Group and countless other committees. Riley’s contributions to pedagogical strategies at Ryerson centre the infusion of EDI and decolonization. As an Assistant Professor, Riley’s own pedagogical approach creates space for BIPOC students to learn in an environment which fosters their success.

Antoinette Mercurio

Office of the President, Central Communications

Communications staff hold a great deal of power, serving as mouthpieces for organizations to shine a light on stories and people that matter. Antoinette Mercurio goes above and beyond her responsibilities as senior writer/editor in Central Communications to promote the importance of equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI). She diligently advocates for change, increases the representation of diverse communities, disrupts dominant narratives that centre Whiteness, and develops relationships based on mutual respect. By prioritizing EDI, Antoinette is making a positive impact on how stories are being told while also ensuring that access and exposure in university-wide publications is inclusive and equitable.

Inclusive Media and Design Centre

  • Deborah Fels, Ted Rogers School of Management
  • Margot Whitfiel, Ted Rogers School of Information Technology Management

The IMDC is challenging stereotypical notions of accessibility, breaking down barriers to technology, education, entertainment and healthcare, through its Inclusive Design methodology; creating opportunities for innovative solutions that meet a range of diverse human sensory experiences and perceptions along with differences in culture, gender, age, place and education. Private and non-profit student-developed applications resulting from IMDC research include: robotic in-class presence for neurodivergent children, hands-free technology for those with mobility impairments, personalized video healthcare applications for older adults, enhanced audio description for blind audiences and live text-animated captioning applications and high-resolution vibrotactile artforms for Deaf and hard of hearing viewers.

Past recipients

  • Kimberlee Collins
    Faculty of Community Services
  • Laurel Walzak
    RTA School of Media, Faculty of Communication and Design
  • FCAD School Fashion Main Office
    • Ben Barry, School of Fashion, Faculty of Communication and Design
    • Audrey Colphon-Reynolds, School of Fashion, Faculty of Communication and Design
    • Sadia Kamran, Office of the Dean, Faculty of Communication and Design
    • Grahame Lynch, School of Fashion, Faculty of Communication and Design
    • Cira Nickel, School of Fashion, Faculty of Communication and Design
    • Jeanine Webster, School of Fashion, Faculty of Communication and Design
  • Tracey King
    Human Resources
  • Kathryn Underwood
    Faculty of Community Services
  • Housing and Residence Life - All-Gender Housing Development Team
  • Imogen Coe
    Faculty of Science
  • Sricamalan Pathmanathan
    Human Resources
  • Anver Saloojee
    Ryerson International
  • Career Centre Team
  • Positive Space Co-Chair Team
  • Kerri Bailey
    Facilities Management and Development
  • O'neil Edwards
    Spanning the Gaps, The G. Raymond Chang School of Continuing Education
  • Myer Siemiatycki
    Department of Politics and Public Administration, Faculty of Arts