You are now in the main content area

Linda Grayson Administrative Leadership Award Recipients

The Linda Grayson Administrative Leadership Awards are in recognition of Linda Grayson, former Vice-President, Administration and Finance. These awards recognize two individuals (one Senior Administrator or Director and one MAC, CUPE 233 or OPSEU employee) who have demonstrated exceptional leadership through effectively managing a project, activity or team, to achieve outstanding results.

Recipients receive a certificate and a one-time monetary award of $2,000 (subject to applicable deductions).

Key criteria: Leadership; people first

2021 recipients

Lindsay Hanna

Faculty of Communication and Design

As a Ryerson Journalism grad and production specialist for 16 years, Lindsay Hanna knowledge of journalism and our experiential teaching methods drove her to create and adapt industry programs and platforms and educational technology so that instructors could deliver 50 courses this fall. She boldly persuaded school leadership in early April that anything and everything was possible. For five months, she identified and customized digital programs to recreate professional newsroom experiences. Then, she created resources and workshops to teach the teachers and others, to inspire students about learning remotely. Always ready to troubleshoot and calm jitters, always exuding cheerfulness.

Glenda Mallon

Facilities Management and Development

Glenda Mallon demonstrated exceptional leadership under some challenging circumstances during the 2019-20 academic year. As if assuming the mantle of responsibility for a 180+ person organization being pulled in numerous directions wasn’t enough, Glenda handled some complex HR issues, blended legacy commitments with new visions for productivity and then energized and motivated the department to adjust service-delivery through the first 6 months of the COVID-19 pandemic. There have been at least three key ways she has fulfilled “beyond usual expectations”: exemplification of collaboration, strong communications, and team empowerment.

Past recipients

  • Gillian D'Agostino
    Community Safety & Security
  • John Paul Foxe
    Academic Integrity Office
  • Shawn McFadden
    Department of Chemistry and Biology, Faculty of Science
  • Jennifer MacInnis
    Office of the General Counsel and Board Secretariat
  • Dayle Levine
    Office of the Vice-President, Research and Innovation
  • John MacRitchie
    Office of the Vice-President, Research and Innovation
  • Linda Maxwell
    Office of the Provost and Vice-President, Academic
  • Sharmaine McKenzie
    Faculty of Arts
  • Mohammad Adnan Syed
    Faculty of Science
  • Philip Cox
    Custodial Services, Facilities Management and Development
  • Michael Forbes
    University Relations