You are now in the main content area

Provost's Award for Teaching Excellence Recipients

The Provost’s Award for Teaching Excellence recognizes Ryerson educators or groups of educators with outstanding teaching records, and who have made contributions to advancing teaching and learning at Ryerson. Nominations should focus on i) innovation in teaching, ii) inclusive teaching, or iii) experiential teaching. Up to three awards will be given out annually.

Individual recipients receive a certificate of recognition and a one-time monetary award of $2,000 (subject to applicable deductions). Group recipients receive individual certificates and a total one-time monetary award of $2,000 (subject to applicable deductions) to be shared equally among members. 

2020 recipients

Louis-Etienne Dubois

School of Creative Industries, Faculty of Communication and Design

Dr Louis-Etienne Dubois receives the Provost's Teaching Award in Innovation in Teaching for his curricular design of Creative Industries' capstone course, Managing the Creative Enterprise. Louis tirelessly redeveloped and deepened the course to give students as immersive an experience in management as possible. He created a digital semester long simulation where students play managers in a creative enterprise reporting to an Advisory Board. Industry leaders play the Board. Using gamification, the simulation challenges and engages students. Led by Louis, the course is a great working model of academics and industry professionals collaborating together to contribute their insights and expertise.

Elsayed Elbeshbishy

Department of Civil Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science

Dr. Elbeshbishy has demonstrated excellent teaching and student supervision which highly recognized by students. He has played a key role in several committees related to teaching and academic affairs in the department and faculty level to improve the quality of the education. He uses small scale physical models (visual aids) of real structures that stimulate students' imagination in understanding the three-dimensional aspect. He prepared “Digital Audio and Video Lab Manual” in order to enhance the teaching experience of the students and give them more time to conduct the experiments by themselves in the lab. He also developed new graduate course.

Naomi Hamer

Department of English, Faculty of Arts

Dr. Naomi Hamer is a leader in experiential teaching in English at Ryerson. She is passionately committed to critical pedagogy, inclusion, interdisciplinarity, and creating opportunities for students to apply their learning through classroom and community experiences, from choosing some of their own readings to creating interactive digital exhibits. Dr. Hamer marries theoretical and applied approaches to children's literature and culture by cohesively integrating hands-on, reflective student engagement with mobile apps, picture books, childhood artifacts, museums, and archives. She involves undergraduate and graduate students in research and community engagement, including co-presenting at conferences and supervising Mitacs-funded Master's students in research internationally.

Past recipients

Provost’s Experiential Teaching Award

  • Judy Finlay
    School of Child and Youth Care, Faculty of Community Services
  • Richard Lachman
    Office of the Provost and Vice-President, Academic

Provost’s Innovative Teaching Award

  • Tae Hart
    Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts

Provost’s Experiential Teaching Award

  • Linying Dong
    Information Technology Management, Ted Rogers School of Management

Provost’s Experiential Teaching Award

  • Christopher Gibbs
    School of Hospitality and Tourism Management, Ted Rogers School of Management
  • Vicki Van Wagner
    Midwifery Education Program, Faculty of Community Services

Provost’s Innovative Teaching Award

  • Marni Binder
    School of Early Childhood Studies, Faculty of Community Services