Skip to main content

Alan Shepard Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Employee Award: 2016 recipients

The Office of the Assistant Vice President/Vice Provost Equity, Diversity and Inclusion congratulates all the recipients, nominees, and thanks all the nominators for making this an excellent year. All of the nominations were inspiring and contained many of the qualities we value at Ryerson.

Inhabiting Critical Spaces Project Team

Inhabiting Critical Spaces Project TeamThe Inhabiting Critical Spaces project team is comprised of Ryerson faculty members Doreen Fumia, Camille Hernandez-Ramdwar, Amina Jamal, Melanie Knight, and Nicole Neverson and research assistants Azar Masoumi and Adwoa Ntozake Onuora. This project has made an important contribution to equity, diversity and inclusion at Ryerson University by documenting the learning and teaching experiences of Ryerson faculty members and students working from the margins, meaning those who are members of equity-seeking groups. Inhabiting Critical Spaces is a powerful document of the real world challenges faced, and practical problem solving methods developed, by Ryerson faculty and students working from the margins. The team has identified and addressed systemic barriers to full participation through their research process, written report and the delivery of a series of workshops on campus.

Doreen Fumia, Camille Hernandez-Ramdwar, Amina Jamal, Melanie Knight, Azar Masoumi, Nicole Neverson and Adwoa Ntozake Onuora

Lynn LavalléeLynn Lavallée
School of Social Work

Since arriving at Ryerson in 2005, Dr. Lynn Lavallée's work has always focused on the advancement of Indigenous ways of knowing in the academy. Lynn has been steady and unwavering in her dedication to this goal. Lynn's work at (and beyond) Ryerson University has championed EDI at every turn. Through her teaching, research, and service she has identified challenges and barriers that prevent members of marginalized communities from equitable participation and she has actively worked to transform those challenges and barriers. Given her significant successes in advancing EDI goals, Lynn is a most deserving candidate for this prestigious award.

Past recipients