Skip to main content

Dean's Service Award

The Dean's Service Award recognizes exceptional or distinguished service to a Department, School, Faculty and/or the University.

Award recipient(s) will receive a certificate of recognition and a monetary award of $2,000 as a one-time payment (subject to applicable deductions).

Key criteria: Service

Nomination guidelines

Eligibility and obligations

Any RFA faculty member is eligible. Chairs and Directors are not eligible as a significant portion of their job is service related. If a member of the Faculty Award Committee (FAC) is nominated or applies, they should either withdraw the nomination/application or step down from the Selection Committee and be replaced. Faculty who receive an award (Teaching, SRC or Service) may not receive another award in any category for the following two years. (e.g. 2018-2019 recipient receiving an award in Winter 2019 would not be eligible to apply for 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 awards.)

The number of annual awards per Faculty, listed below, is based on the number of faculty in a Faculty.

Arts Communication
& Design
Engineering &
Science Ted Rogers
School of







Who can submit a nomination?

Interested faculty may apply for the award or faculty may be nominated for the award.

Award criteria

For each awards cycle, applications/nominations are based on submission of an application/nomination form and assessed based on achievements reported in the previous academic year’s Faculty Annual Report. (e.g. For the 2019-2020 awards cycle, applications/nominations are assessed based on achievements reported in the May 2019 annual report.)

Excellence should be demonstrated in at least one of the following:

  1. Exceptional service to the Department/School, Faculty or University.
  2. Promotion of the reputation of the Department/School, Faculty or University to the broader community and/or the profession through service effort.

Faculty award recipients must achieve a minimum standard performance in all three faculty duties (teaching, SRC and service). This ensures that excellence in one area is not being facilitated by under-performance in others.

Nomination process
  1. Obtain the nominee’s permission (if applicable).
  2. Complete the nomination  package as described below.
  3. Submit the nomination package via the Online Nomination Portal on the Recognition website.
  4. Nominee receives a confirmation email with a link to provide online consent before the deadline. This step must be completed before the deadline.
Nomination package

The submission must include:

  • Citation (100 words maximum) – highlight why the nominee deserves this award and any notable achievements. This citation will be included in related university communication should the nominee or team be selected.
  • Supporting Statement (500 word maximum) - supports the nomination/application based on exceptional service to the Department/School, Faculty or University and/or any ways in which the service may have impacted the reputation of that unit, the broader community or the profession.
  • Annual Report from the previous academic year. Only those attachments directly related to the award being sought should be attached for the purposes of the application/nomination.
  • Two Letters of Support (one page maximum each) demonstrating how the applicant/nominee has demonstrated excellence in at least one of the areas noted in the statement.
  • Updated CV in Common or OCGS format - this requirement is submitted after the initial application/nomination process. Applicants/nominees will be prompted by email to submit this portion.
Selection process

Each Faculty will strike a Faculty Award Committee to evaluate applications/nominations for the recognition awards governed by Appendix G of the Ryerson Faculty Association collective agreement.

Five members are elected by and from the members of the Faculty. There may be no more than one member from each department on the FAC. In a Faculty with fewer than five departments, the Faculty may, however, choose to reduce the size of the committee to include one member from each department.

Important dates

Nomination deadline: November 8 at noon
Recipient notified by: December 20
Award presentation: Faculty Service Luncheon; Ryerson Awards Night


Faculty of Arts

Kathryn Rowan
Academic Administrative Coordinator
ext. 7155

Faculty of Communication and Design

Dan Greenwood
Director of Operations

Faculty of Community Services

Sarah Bukhari
Administrative Coordinator
ext. 4641

Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science

Dorothy Opasinis
Administration Manager
ext. 5102

Faculty of Science

Virginia Clark
Administrative Coordinator,
ext. 5247

Ted Rogers School of Management

Inthuja Ramachandran
Academic Administrative Coordinator
ext. 5169


Nomination deadline
Nov 8 at noon

Including nominee's online consent

Recipients of this award are celebrated at two events:

Faculty Service Luncheon

Ryerson Awards Night

For questions or more information regarding this award, please contact:

Faculty of Arts
Kathryn Rowan, ext. 7155

Faculty of Communication and Design
Dan Greenwood, ext. 5232

Faculty of Community Services
Sarah Bukhari, ext. 4641

Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science
Dorothy Opasinis, ext. 5102

Faculty of Science
Virginia Clark, ext. 5247

Ted Rogers School of Management
Inthuja Ramachandran, ext. 5169

The G. Raymond Chang School of Continuing Education
Brendan Curran, ext. 5184