Skip to main content

Errol Aspevig Award for Outstanding Academic Leadership: 2015 recipients

Lamya AmlehLamya Amleh
Department of Civil Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science

Lamya Amleh has played an excellent leadership role in developing a transition program for first year students, that is now well recognized university-wide. She has created innovative and imaginative resources, programs and support services for students that have increased academic excellence and retention among first year engineering students. Dr. Amleh and her students are currently developing a Virtual Lab that will engage engineering students in current disciplinary issues and develop critical thinking skills. She fully embodies Ryerson's People First Culture and has contributed greatly to Ryerson's Academic Plan, Our Time To Lead. Dr. Amleh is an active member of the Ryerson community and a champion of students, faculty and staff alike.


Usha GeorgeUsha George
Office of the Dean, Faculty of Community Services

Usha George, Dean of the Faculty of Community Services (FCS), is an accomplished scholar, teacher, community member, and leader. She embodies the qualities ascribed to an 'authentic leader' and leads by example. Usha is highly engaged and influential in the professional experiences and successes of FCS students, faculty members, and community partners. Her influence is achieved through her warm interpersonal style, the provision of programs and resources in support of advancing individual and collective SRC and teaching excellence, and by fostering a spirit of innovation and pride that transverses all dimensions of the academic role. Usha's contributions at the university level are equally as remarkable. She is a collaborative leader and through her partnerships within FCS and the larger Ryerson community she contributes to the successful achievements of students, faculty, staff, external partners, and ultimately, the outcomes sought through Ryerson's Academic plan.



Past recipients