Skip to main content

Errol Aspevig Award for Outstanding Academic Leadership: 2017 recipients

Madeleine LefebvreMadeleine Lefebvre
Office of the Chief Librarian, Library and Archives

Madeleine Lefebvre has exemplified visionary leadership as chief librarian of the Ryerson Library and Archives (RULA) during a transformative time at Ryerson University. Her innovative thinking has fostered an environment of cross-disciplinary synergy, experimentation and discovery that has contributed to a flourishing community of experiential learning and open scholarship. Madeleine has amplified the impact of the library despite reduced resources by harnessing the multiplier effect of collaboration, facilitation and community. Under her guidance, innovative services and technologies have put RULA at the forefront of support for digital literacy, eLearning and entrepreneurial skill development at academic university libraries.

Catherine SchryerCatherine Schryer
School of Professional Communication, Faculty of Communication and Design

Dr. Catherine Schryer's leadership exemplifies Ryerson's commitment to student success, SRC excellence, creative innovation and community engagement. As chair of the school of professional communication for seven years, her contribution has far exceeded the expectation for a chair to provide academic leadership. Upon her arrival,"ProCom" was a small service department. Today, the school offers undergraduate and graduate programs with experiential learning opportunities in state-of-the-art facilities led by award-winning teachers with strong research programs, supported by a dedicated staff. Her dynamic vision, skillful guidance, strategic planning and collaborative spirit have driven this remarkable transformation. Her leadership embodies the Aspevig award.

Past recipients