Skip to main content

About Ryerson Senate

Ryerson’s Senate is responsible for maintaining, communicating, and implementing the University’s policies related to academic matters. These include the content and quality of all programs and courses of study, the standards for admission to the University, and the qualifications for obtaining degrees, diplomas and certificates.

Much of Senate's work is done through its Standing Committees. These Committees include Academic Governance & Policy, Scholarly Research & Creative Activity, Senate Appeals, Academic Standards, Awards & Ceremonials, Learning and Teaching, and the Research Ethics Board.

The Academic Standards Committee, for example, does a comprehensive review of all new program proposals, and is also responsible for the periodic review of existing programs, all of which are brought to the Senate for final approval; the Awards & Ceremonials Committee approves the awarding of all degrees, including Honorary Doctorates; and the Senate Appeals Committee considers students' final appeals of their grades, academic standing, and findings of academic misconduct.

Senate is composed of ex-officio members – the Chancellor, the President and Vice Chancellor (who is the Chair of Senate), Vice Presidents (including the Provost), Vice Provosts, Deans, Registrar, and Chief Librarian ; – as well as fifty-one (51) elected representatives of the University's faculty, students and alumni, and five (5) non-voting Senate Associates. Senate meetings are typically held on the first Tuesday of each month from October through June.