Delete or deactivate a page
- Deactivate, make sure no other pages are affected, then delete
Once you delete an asset, whether a web page or image file, it can be very difficult to restore that asset, especially if more than a day has passed.
Deleting a file or asset:
- removes that file from CQ/AEM and also removes it from the live website
- If a web page is linking to your deleted file, that page will have a broken link
- If you deleted an image being used on a webpage, that page will display a broken image icon
Deactivating an asset:
- removes the file from the live website but keeps it in CQ
If you deleted a page or asset and must recover it, please do following steps:
- STOP activating any page or asset in your site; just keep the site as it is.
- Do NOT create new versions for your pages or assets.
- Contact Digital Publishing team immediately for assistance.
- Pages or assets that are accidentally deleted can be recovered using the Restore Version tool ONLY if the page or asset has had a VERSION created.
- It is not possible to recover a page or asset that has no version.
- The Restore Version feature is NOT RECOMMENDED as there is the risk of losing more assets during a restore. Please do NOT restore the versions by yourself.