You are now in the main content area

Development environment (dev)

  • All new websites are created in the CQ/AEM development environment - cqauthor.dev.ryerson.ca, opens in new window.

  • Dev is the working environment made available to Ryerson employees to design and build new websites (or redesign existing sites).

  • The development environment simulates the production environment (as closely as possible).

  • Content authors can build new sites using all available templates, components and features.

  • All updates and customizations that are available in production are made available for use in the development environment.

  • Users can activate content and provide a unique development URL for approvers to review content before it goes live.

  • If you are planning a major site change or redesign, this work should be done in development.  

  • Once a site is completed in development, it is moved to the production environment - cmshost.ryerson.ca, opens in new window  and activated.

  • Once the site is moved, authors will modify, create and activate content in production, not in dev.
  • Content activated in the production environment is considered "live or public" and is viewed on ryerson.ca/site-name

  • Content activated in dev is not "live" but can be viewed at www.dev.ryerson.ca/site-name

  • Content on ryerson.ca is indexed by search engines, making it searchable

  • Content on www.dev.ryerson.ca cannot be indexed and is not searchable

  • Content in development cannot be found by users until moved to production

  • Within dev, you may see  "Do Not Use" or "To Be Phased Out" within the sidekick. We ask that you do not use any of these components.

 

Whether you are building a brand new site, or redesigning your current one, working in a development environment is a standard best practice.    

  • Your dev site is used as a sandbox where you can create and edit pages without affecting your live content.
  • Working in dev gives you flexibility in terms of testing out a new look and feel before you releasing it to ryerson.ca.
  • Using the development environment allows project owners an opportunity to review and approve content before it gets moved to production.

Content is not searchable

Content activated in dev can be viewed on a development server that is not indexed by any search engines. You can distribute your development URL to others for approval purposes but it can't be found by a search engine.

The shared URL is http://www.dev.ryerson.ca/your-site-name

AEM/CQ is available to Ryerson employees for use by all Ryerson Departments, Faculties, Schools and Programs.

It is not available for student or personal websites.

Request a new site

 If a development site has been requested and set up by the Digital Publishing team but has not been used within six months, it will be deleted from the development environment without notice.

Multiple copies of the same website will no longer be permitted. e.g. sitename, sitename1, sitename-copy

The Development site URL is https://cqauthor.dev.ryerson.ca

 Once your development site has been created, use your my.ryerson username and password to access CQ.

Once your site has been completed and approved, you MUST request an activation to the live/production site i.e. ryerson.ca/your-site-name

Activation times:

  • Activations for new websites are scheduled daily from Monday to Friday between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.
  • Activations for existing websites are scheduled daily between 4 p.m. and 5 p.m.   

Lead time:

  • Your activation will require a minimum of two days notice.

Related:

The development environment is not a storage area for archives or backups of websites already released to production.

Once your site has been moved to production, it will be immediately deactivated and deleted after two weeks without notification.

 If a development site has been requested and set up by the Digital Publishing team but has not been used within six months, it will be deleted from the development environment without notice using an automated script.

Multiple copies of the same website will no longer be permitted. e.g. sitename, sitename1, sitename-copy