Canadian Society for Civil Engineering


The Sandford Fleming Award was established in 1999 in honour of Sir Sandford Fleming, 1827-1915, Canada's foremost railway surveyor and railway engineer of the 19th century. He was Chief Engineer of the Intercolonial Railway from Eastern Quebec to Southern New Brunswick and in 1871 he was appointed chief Engineer of the proposed new Canadian Pacific Railway from Montreal to the Pacific Coast. His railway route from Winnipeg to Vancouver through the Yellowhead Pass is now used in the Canadian National Railway. The CSCE wishes to acknowledge the generosity of the Canadian National Railway for funding this award. The Sandford Fleming Award is presented annually to a member of CSCE who has made particularly outstanding contributions to the development and practice of transportation engineering in Canada.

The Sandford Fleming Award for the year 2003 is granted to Dr. Said Easa, Professor and Chair of Civil Engineering at Ryerson University. This lifetime achievement award was presented to Dr. Easa at the Awards Banquet, held during the Annual CSCE Conference on Friday, June 6, 2003 in Moncton, New Brunswick.

Dr. Easa graduated from Cairo University with a B.Sc. in Civil Engineering and an M.Eng. in Transportation Engineering from McMaster University, and received a Ph.D. in Transportation Engineering from the University of California at Berkeley in 1982. He has conducted research in a wide range of transportation areas for over 20 years, and has authored and co-authored 300 publications, including over 140 in refereed journals. In 1996, he initiated and chaired the highly successful CSCE transportation conference series. In 1998, he led a CSCE delegation to China and Pakistan focusing on sustainable transportation, and was speaker of the 2002 CSCE national lecture tour on road safety.

Dr. Easa has served as Chair of the CSCE Transportation Division and Publications Committee, and currently serves as CSCE Vice-President (Administration) and member of CSCE Board of Directors. He was elected Fellow of CSCE in 1995. Dr. Easa was keynote speaker at several international conferences and co-chair of a national conference sponsored by American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). His work has received several national and international best-paper and lifetime achievement awards, including the 1997 Keefer medal from CSCE and the 2001 Frank M. Masters Transportation Engineering Award from ASCE for "outstanding contributions to ASCE and the transportation profession throughout his career."