Skip to main content
Faculty of Communication & Design

General Enquiries

Tel: 416-979-5348
Fax: 416-979-5285

Mailing Address

Rogers Communications Centre
80 Gould St., RCC-320


Photo of Gerd Hauck, Dean of FCAD

Charles Falzon, Dean of FCAD

cfalzon@ryerson.ca
416 979-5012

As part of Ryerson’s senior management team, the Dean of the Faculty of Communication & Design plays a vital role in guiding all aspects of the academic and administrative agendas for each of the nine schools housed within the Faculty of Communication & Design, as well as related research, entrepreneurial and operational activities.

A graduate of Ryerson’s RTA program, Charles has had a distinguished career in media and creative industries with an accomplished track record in production, brand development and commerce. Charles had taught at Ryerson for nearly twenty years and was previously Chair of The RTA School of Media before becoming Dean.

Read more here

Photo of Jean Mason

Ivor Shapiro, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Education and Student Affairs

ishapiro@ryerson.ca

416-979-5000 x 3114

As Associate Dean, Undergraduate Education and Student Affairs, Ivor helps ensure that FCAD puts people first and provides high-quality undergraduate learning experiences. Key areas of his role include support for students and faculty members, cross-disciplinary innovation in curriculum, and oversight of academic supports and processes. 

In addition to his role in the dean's office, Ivor conducts research into journalists' professional identity and values, and teaches ethics and law in the School of Journalism. He chaired the ethics advisory committee of the Canadian Association of Journalists until June 2015, and was the founding editor of the Canadian Journalism Project (J-Source.ca), a national website providing information, commentary and resources related to the achievement of, and challenges to, journalistic excellence.

Photo of Charles Davis

Charles Davis, Associate Dean, Scholarly Research & Creative

c5davis@ryerson.ca
416 979-5000 ext 7866

As Associate Dean, SRC, Charles Davis is responsible for the development and implementation of a strategy that enhances and nurtures SRC activities within the Faculty of Communication & Design.  In this capacity, he supports and promotes research initiatives, partnerships, collaborative projects, and interdisciplinary SRC activities.  He is also responsible for expanding research training opportunities for graduate and undergraduate students. 

In addition to his role as Associate Dean, Dr. Davis is a professor in the RTA School of Media and holds the ES Rogers Sr Research Chair in Media Management and Entrepreneurship at Ryerson University.

Read more here.

Photo of Charles Davis

Jean Bruce, Associate Dean, Graduate Education

jbruce@ryerson.ca
416 979 500 x3590

Jean holds a Ph.D. from the Humanities Doctoral Program at Concordia University with a specialization in Cinema Studies. Jean joined the School of Image Arts in 2004 as an Assistant Professor and became Associate Professor in 2010. Prior to joining Ryerson, she was Assistant Adjunct Professor at the Department of Film and Media Studies at Queen’s University.

In her time at Ryerson, Jean has served on various school, faculty and university-wide curriculum committees. Jean has also represented FCAD on the university’s Academic Standards Committee and graduate program committees. She has served as Associate Chair of the School of Image Arts and last year, Jean was its interim Chair.

As part of her SSHRC-funded scholarly work, Jean has co-organized international symposia and published research on Canadian cinema and television. Last year, she co-authored a book on the National Film Board of Canada’s groundbreaking and socially significant film, Forbidden Love. Currently, she is writing and co-editing a special issue of the European Journal of Cultural Studies that examines gender and property on real estate reality TV shows.

Jean supervises graduate thesis projects in Documentary Media, Film +Photography Preservation and Collections Management, and Communication and Culture. Jean teaches graduate courses in communication and cultural studies, visual culture and reality television.

With seven graduate programs across our nine schools, FCAD is a significant part of graduate education at Ryerson University, and we intend to build on this foundation even further. Under Jean’s leadership, we will continue to design and deliver the interdisciplinary and international graduate programs that are increasingly valued by students, employers and institutions across Canada.

Photo of Michel Kouadio

Michel Kouadio, Director, Technology Planning and Innovation
mkouadio@ryerson.ca
416 979-5000 ext 4511

Photo of Marie Crosta

Marie Crosta, Director, Communications and Special Projects
mcrosta@ryerson.ca
416-979-5000 ex. 2726

Photo of Dan Greenwood

Dan Greenwood, Director of Operations
dan.greenwood@ryerson.ca
416-979-5232

Brendan Dellandrea, Director, Strategic Planning and Advancement
bdelland@ryerson.ca
647-330-6533

Photo of Madalyn Fewster

Richard Lachman, Director, Research and Development
richlach@ryerson.ca
416-979-5000

 

Photo of Nashwa Salem

Nashwa Salem, Manager of Academic Administration 
nsalem@ryerson.ca
416 979-5012

Photo

Ashfaq Gaffar, Manager, Finance
agaffar@ryerson.ca
416 979-5000 x 3725

Photo of Sari Disenhouse

Sari Disenhouse, Associate Director of Development
sari.disenhouse@ryerson.ca
416 979-5000 ext 7644

Photo

Megan Skyvington, Development Officer
mskyvington@ryerson.ca
416 979 5000 ex. 3719

Photo of Martin Chochinov

Martin Chochinov, International Exchange Officer
exchange@ryerson.ca
416 979-5000 ext 7924

Nirva Saatjian, Research Accounts Support Officer
nirva.saatjian@ryerson.ca
416 979 5000 ext. 2381

 

Photo of Christine Danielewski

Christine Danielewski, Human Resources Consultant
cdaniele@ryerson.ca
416 979-5000 ext 2296

Photo of Bronwyn Dickson

Bronwyn Dickson, Counsellor
bronwynd@ryerson.ca
416 979-5195

Photo of Bronwyn Dickson

Immaculate Antony, Counsellor
immaculate.antony@ryerson.ca
416 979-5195

Photo of Madalyn Fewster

Jean Tsai, Counsellor
j.tsai@ryerson.ca
416-979-5195

 

 

 

Photo of Madalyn Fewster

Prachi Khandekar, Design, Branding and Communications Coordinator
prachi.khandekar@ryerson.ca
416-979-5000

 

 

Photo of Madalyn Fewster

Madalyn Krapez-Fewster, Recruitment and Communications Coordinator
madalyn.fewster@ryerson.ca
416-455-1443

Photo

Lianne Newman, Manager, Student Engagement and Development
lianne.newman@ryerson.ca
416-979-5000 x2409

Photo of Madalyn Fewster

Nadine Stillman, Receptionist
nstillman@ryerson.ca
416-979-5348

Photo of Madalyn Fewster

Mark Campbell, Sr. Research Associate
mvcampbell@ryerson.ca
416-979-5000

 

 

 

Jeannette Paule, Financial and Administrative Assistant
jeannette.paule@ryerson.ca
416-979-5000 x 4740

 

Lauren Dwyer, Academic Administrative Assistant
lauren.dwyer@ryerson.ca

 

Amiga Taylor, Student Health and Well-Being Navigator
amiga.taylor@ryerson.ca
416 979-5000 x 543457