You are now in the main content area

Summer 2020 Applications due October 30, 2019

Click the links below to see what kind of exciting research is going at the ICE2020 host destinations

Below are just some of the reasons why you may want be a part of ICE this summer:

Maja in the Lab

1. Expand your network and leave your comfrot zone by travelling and working at other Canadain Universities

Sahana and a fluorescent dye

2. It is an amazing experiential learning opportunity where you can be a part of cutting edge research in the areas of nanomaterials, solar energy, catalysis, and so much more!

Jenn and her column

3. You get the opportunity to apply what you are learning in the classroom and further develop your critical thinking and problem solving skills with the help of amazing mentors.

Omar at the vacline

4. You get paid ($$$) and have the opportunity to go to conferences and the travel expenses are also covered as part of the program!

The following outlines the timelines as part of the program:

October 2019: Download the application form and submit by e-mail to your local or regional ICE coordinator (see below) by October 30, 2019

December 2019:  2019 ICE Student Scholars are selected by the national organizers and are matched with faculty supervisors

January 2020: Apply for an NSERC USRA at host institution

May 2020: Travel to host university (travel costs are covered as part of the program), spend the summer participating in research at your host lab

August 2020: Travel to the ICE conference in Halifax, Nova Scotia (travel costs are covered) to present the results of your summer’s research

Who are my local/regional coordinators?

Name

Email

School

Fran Kerton or

Chris Kozak

fkerton@mun.ca,

ckozak@mun.ca

Memorial

Saurabh Chitnis

saurabh.chitnis@dal.ca

Dalhousie

Jason Masuda

Jason.Masuda@smu.ca

St. Mary’s

Steve Westcott

swestcot@mta.ca

MtA

Stephanie MacQuarrie

stephanie_macquarrie@cbu.ca

CBU

Adam Dyker

cadyker@unb.ca

UNB

Pierre Harvey

Pierre.Harvey@USherbrooke.ca

Sherbrooke

Fred Fontaine

Frederic.Fontaine@chm.ulaval.ca

Laval

Jacques Huot

Jacques.Huot@uqtr.ca

UQuebec Trois-Rivières

Tomislav Friscic

tomislav.friscic@mcgill.ca

McGill

Garry Hanan

garry.hanan@umontreal.ca

U Montreal

Xavier Ottenwaelder

dr.x@concordia.ca

Concordia

Ali Nazemi

nazemi.ali@uqam.ca

UQAM

Tom Baker

rbaker@uottawa.ca

UOttawa

Sean Barry

sean_barry@carleton.ca

Carleton

Donal Macartney

donal.macartney@chem.queensu.ca

Queens

Jennifer Scott

Jennifer.Scott@rmc.ca

RMC

Olena Zenkina

olena.zenkina@uoit.ca

UOIT

Bryan Koivisto

bryan.koivisto@ryerson.ca

Ryerson

Datong Song

d.song@utoronto.ca

U of Toronto

Ulrich Fekl

ulrich.fekl@utoronto.ca

UofT Mississauga

Bernie Kraatz

bernie.kraatz@utoronto.ca

UofT Scarborough

Chris Caputo

caputo@yorku.ca

York

Marcel Schlaf or Kathryn Preuss

mschlaf@uoguelph.ca kpreuss@uoguelph.ca

Guelph

Rod Smith

RodSmith@uwaterloo.ca

Waterloo/Laurier

Ignacio Vargas-Baca

vargasi@mcmaster.ca

McMaster

Georgii Nikonov

gnikonov@brocku.ca

Brock

Johanna Blacquiere

Johanna.blacquiere@uwo.ca

Western University

Marcus Drover

marcus.drover@uwindsor.ca

Windsor

Craig McKinnon

cmackinn@lakeheadu.ca

Lakehead

Dave Herbert

David.Herbert@umanitoba.ca

Manitoba

Mario Bieringer

bieringe@cc.umanitoba.ca

Winnipeg

Tim Kelly

tim.kelly@usask.ca

Saskatoon

Vlad Michaelis

vmichael@ualberta.ca

U Alberta

Greg Welch

gregory.welch@ucalgary.ca

Calgary

Paul Hayes

p.hayes@uleth.ca

Lethbridge

 Linus Chiang

kevin.m.smith@ubc.ca

University of the Fraser Valley

Curtis Berlinguette

cberling@chem.ubc.ca

UBC

Jeff Warren

j.warren@sfu.ca

SFU


If your university does not have a participating faculty member this year please contact the closest regional ICE representative:  Andrew Grosvenor - University of Saskatchewan; Johanna Blacquiere - Western University; Bryan Koivisto – Ryerson University; Fran Kerton – Memorial University
.

In conversation with Dr. Lisa Rosenberg, one of the co-founders of the ICE program

Q. Lisa, how did the ICE exchange get started in 2004?

A. Deryn Fogg and I had a series of discussions arounded the fact idea that across Canada, chemistry researchers were eager to recruit outstanding graduate students, and that we were all essentially training each others’ future coworkers. Recognizing the great success of the RISE programs aimed at helping undergraduate students to think maturely and broadly about their career options in mass spectrometry and photochemistry, we decided our field of inorganic chemistry needed the same type of program to increase its visibility among talented undergraduates. The goal was to identify and nurture the abilities of promising undergraduates, by giving them exciting, challenging, out-of-province summer research positions. We kept it simple the first year: Deryn sent a great student to spend the summer working in my lab in Victoria. Sébastien Monfette, who is now a research scientist at Pfizer, still speaks of how formative that experience was for him. Deryn had just become Chair of the Inorganic Division of the CSC. At the Division AGM that year (2004), she and I, articulated her vision for a larger-scale program, and it was unanimously approved. She commissioned me, as a Division Executive member at large, to set up the ICE program as we now know it. 

Q. Lisa, reflecting on your original motivation for the program, what would you say are some of it greatest accomplishments over the last 10 years?

A. As we expected, the program has identified and supported many outstanding students over the years, many of whom have gone on to graduate school in Chemistry, and other professional careers. What we did not fully anticipated was the collegiality and community-building that would occur among the faculty as well. The recruitment portion of the program puts us in the unusual position of selling other peoples’ research to our brightest undergraduates, and at the end-of-summer conference we get to know our colleagues and about their research programs in an informal setting where the focus is not on us (!). The network building and exchange of ideas moves outwards from this program in great waves, for students and faculty alike.

Pictures and Alumni coming soon... but while you wait, you should consider becoming a future alumni yourself!

ICE Program Coordinator
Prof. R. Tom Baker
University of Ottawa

rbaker@uottawa.ca

ICE Recruitment Coordinator
Dr. Johanna Blacquiere
Western University

johanna.blacquiere@uwo.ca

ICE Webmaster 
Dr. Bryan Koivisto
Ryerson University

bryan.koivisto@ryerson.ca, opens in new window

ICE Fundraising Coordinator
Dr. Frédéric Fontaine
Université Laval 

Frederic.Fontaine@chm.ulaval.ca