You are now in the main content area

On Sunday, November 14, a new version of the Self Service tools used to request and manage Brightspace shells was introduced!

Learn more about the changes on the What's New page.

Classlist

View the classlist

The classlist is the place to find all of the members of your course.

Some of the things you can do in the classlist include:

  • View a list of users, grouped by role type (i.e. students, course admins like TAs and Course Builders, or All users)
  • Filter the list by section membership
  • Filter the list by group membership
  • Email the entire classlist (or limit by role type)
  • Email individuals in the class
  • View a list of students who have been dropped (withdrawn) from the course shell. 

 

The classlist provides the ability to view a full list of your students.

Finding your classlist

Find the Classlist in the top menu. If it isn't there, review how to enable course tools.

Finding your classlist
  1. To access a full list of students, click Classlist from the nav bar within your course.
  2. The Classlist feature uses filters in its display. If you notice certain users are not listed, double check if you have any filters applied. You can filter your classlist by role (e.g. Student, TA, etc.) or section number.

 


Caution: watch out for...

When viewing the Classlist with “View by” filters applied, there is no option to clear filters. Users must manually remove any filter views or they will not return to the list of all users. This has caused confusion for some instructors, hiding students from view in the Classlist. If you change the "View by" filter to "User" and click Apply, your entire classlist will appear.

Viewing the classlist by section
  1. Change the View By filter to 'Section', and click the Apply button.
Viewing the classlist by section
  1. You will see a new dropdown menu to the right, containing the sections loaded into your course shell. Select the one you wish to view and click the corresponding Apply button.
  2. You will now only see users in that section, including the students and all course admins (who have access to all sections).

Caution: watch out for...

When viewing the Classlist with “View by” filters applied, there is no option to clear filters. Users must manually remove any filter views or they will not return to the list of all users. This has caused confusion for some instructors, hiding students from view in the Classlist. If you change the "View by" filter to "User" and click Apply, your entire classlist will appear.


 

You can email your students from within the classlist feature.