You are now in the main content area

Errol Aspevig Award for Outstanding Academic Leadership Recipients

The Errol Aspevig Award for Outstanding Academic Leadership recognizes up to two individuals who have advanced the mission of Ryerson University through outstanding academic leadership and who have contributed significantly to the enhancement of academic life at Ryerson and beyond. It may be awarded for service at the Departmental, Faculty, or University level, enhanced by service to the community and profession, where appropriate.

Award recipient(s) will receive a certificate of recognition and a monetary award of $3,000 as a one-time payment (subject to applicable deductions)

Key criteria: Leadership

2021 recipients

Charles Falzon

Office of the Dean, Faculty of Communication and Design

Dean Charles Falzon is an ideal candidate for the Errol Aspevig Award for Outstanding Academic Leadership. Charles has shown exceptional leadership in his carriage of the Office of Dean, has advanced all the tenets of Ryerson’s academic plan and has leveraged his own service in the creative sectors to incredible effect for FCAD. Charles not only exemplifies the values of the Institution in its current make-up but is demonstrably pushing Ryerson forward to greater impacts for the University, for our city, and for professionals and the communities within the sectors represented by FCAD’s nine schools.

Kathleen Pirrie-Adams

RTA School of Media, Faculty of Communication and Design

Dr. Kathleen Pirrie-Adams is a trailblazer in Academic Leadership. She is a dynamic and innovative educator and scholar as well as an extremely professional and highly motivated administrator. She is the first female and first openly LGBTQ+ community member to be Chair of the RTA School of Media. She is the leader of an extremely diverse group of faculty, staff and students and is always encouraging to everyone on their own journeys and has the ultimate open-door policy to hear every idea, every issue, and every dream anyone may have. She is the ultimate ideal in Academic Leadership.

Carol Shepstone

Ryerson University Library

Carol Shepstone joined Ryerson as Chief Librarian in September 2017, and has demonstrated exceptional academic leadership and contribution to Ryerson during the past three years. With over 20 years’ experience in academic libraries, her career has also included leadership roles with Mount Royal University in Calgary, Alberta, the University of Saskatchewan Libraries and positions with both the University of British Columbia (UBC) Library system and the Museum of Anthropology at UBC. Carol also has experience working in archives, academic research institutes, and public libraries, and is an active member of many association boards, advisory committees, and academic library consortia.

Past recipients

  • Lisa Barnoff
    Office of the Dean, Faculty of Community Services
  • Marco Fiola
    Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Faculty of Arts
  • Maurice Roche
    Department of Economics, Faculty of Arts
  • Pamela Sugiman
    Office of the Dean, Faculty of Arts
  • Madeleine Lefebvre
    Office of the Chief Librarian, Library and Archives
  • Catherine Schryer
    School of Professional Communication, Faculty of Communication and Design