You are now in the main content area

Chancellor's Award of Distinction Recipients

The Ryerson Chancellor’s Award of Distinction will be conferred on an educator recognized within the Ryerson Community as an exemplary model of life-long career commitment to teaching and learning as evidenced by significant contributions over time to advancing teaching and learning at Ryerson, by sustained educational leadership and by an outstanding and sustained record of teaching excellence.

The award recipient will receive a certificate of recognition and a one-time monetary award payment of $5,000 (subject to applicable deductions).

Key criteria: Teaching

2021 recipient

Steven Gedeon

Ted Rogers School of Management

Steve is an inspiration to all those who aspire to be good teachers. His teaching is innovative, effective and motivational. Students respect and admire him, frequently describing his teaching as transformative. He is a believer in active, experiential learning, delivering courses in creative formats, including flipped classroom, condensed delivery and international travel. He is also committed to core curricular and extracurricular work, making contributions that range from helping set up Zones to leading our highly successful Enactus teams. Dr. Gedeon publishes extensively on entrepreneurship education and is a major participant in international Teach-The-Teacher efforts to advance entrepreneurship curricula and delivery.

Past recipients

  • Andrew Laursen
    Department of Chemistry and Biology, Faculty of Science
  • Medhat Shehata
    Civil Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science
  • Dana Lee
    RTA School of Media, Faculty of Communication and Design


  • Janice Waddell
    Daphne Cockwell School of Nursing, Faculty of Community Services